We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Riad, very helpful and welcoming staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Malaika
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad, very helpful and welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Maliaka. We were welcomed by Abdul and Sylvie on arrival who were very helpful in showing us the places to visit during our stay, where to eat, where to buy spices and places to avoid. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who brought us tea to our room countless times, did our laundry in under a day, arranged and brought us to horse-riding and a massage and even helped bargain down the price of lanterns at a local shop. Fantastic service that others would find hard to beat.
We stayed in the suite which was lovely and goes out directly on to the beautiful terrace where we had our breakfast every morning. We felt very much at home here and it was the best of the three Riad's we stayed in during our time in Marrakech. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The suite - the best location right next to the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    123
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
114
428
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. Every single person we talked to was very helpful. We were recommended restaurants, bars, a place to ride quads, and everything was very good. Great suggestions.

The place itself is very charming, very clean, there are lots of places to sit and relax, from the main floor to the rooftop terrace. They have a menu with food and drinks (Including alcohol) available pretty much whenever you want and they bring it anywhere you want. They don't pressure you for tips, even though I am sure they appreciate it.

Location wise it is also very good. Right in the center of the Medina, 2 min walk from everything, including cash machines, the remparts and the souks.
One of the staff offered us to follow him in the souks while he buys all the food for the dinner that they prepared for us. Great experience. He spoke English even though we spoke French to him.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This riad was beautiful and very creatively redone. Everywhere you looked, you saw something lovely. It was also very, very clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and the breakfast was ample and delicious—and brought to our room.

The location is perfect, very central yet quiet. Three of us stayed in the room on the top floor, which has a bedroom and a sitting room with 2 daybeds. It looks out on the roof terrace which has open and covered seating and is right out the door from the room.

Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Malaika back in December. The hotel was one of our favourites during our trip in Morocco and the best value for money! the rooms were tastefully decorated and smelt amazing! The staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. When we arrived we lost our bank card and the staff were doing whatever they could to help us in the situation and even allowed us to transfer money to the hotel so they could give us the cash. It was a great relief in an awful situation.
The hotel is located on a quiet street in the medina, not far from a number of cheap restaurants and the main shopping street. The beach was also easily accessible and so the lack of a pool really wasn't too important.
One of the staff even went and bought our bus tickets for us!
Overall, an enjoyable and very reasonably priced stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Essaouira.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KulasLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We chose Riad Malaika because my daughter in law is termianlly ill and we needed to feel that if she went down with an infection or that there was an emergency that we would be in caring hands. Indeed this proved to be the case. When needed a wheelchair appear by magic and the nearest chemist located. The fact that breakfast is served until midday was also an asset, so that my daughter in law could sleep in without feeling guilty.
My granddaughter immortalised the exotic decor of Riad Malaika and indeed the sights of Essaouira in her photographs. She intends to have a home in Morocco one day.
To do something as crazy as this gets everyone through a desperate situation. Riad Malaika did us pround, Well done Sylvie, Piermark and staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We arrived at Essaouira at 3 in the morning and the staff at this hotel was waiting for us with a hot cup of delicious tea!! The service was great, the hotel is beautiful, the room was well decorated. The location is very good, near the main street of the medina. Yo can relax, and feel the peace that this riad gives you. Wonderful!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianagut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Level Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Riad is well maintained, tastefully decorated, clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly, breakfast is excellent. Wi-fi connection work very well, also inside the room. The roof terrace is a very nice place. Not easy to find, the staff pick up us at the car parking after a phone call. Great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dindo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#4 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#6 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Property: Riad Malaika
Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUTANTIC RIAD XVIII IN ESSAOUIRA-MORROCO, QUIET IN THE HEART OF THE MEDINA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing