We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place to stay.”
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed a few days in Riad Malaika in December of 2012. The staff were all so welcoming. The owners were there as well and made a point of welcoming us to their riad. On New Years Eve they threw a small soiree for the guests and some of the friends of the staff. The food laid out was excellent. On a more routine note, the breakfasts were plentiful and varied from day to day. The rooms and entire riad were well kept, clean and above all beautifully decorated. We stayed in three riads during our trip to Morocco and Malaika was by far the best.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapricornTraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 821 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay, both the town and the Riad. All the rooms are slightly different and very typical boutique riad in style. Warm in 'winter' and I would love to return in the summer to see the contrast. The common area had an open fire at night which was excellent when returning from a walk within the narrow streets. Breakfast was prompt and very filling and different each morning for the three nights we stayed. There is an excellent restaurant called Ferramous or something similar down the end of the alley. Ask the riad owner they will tell you it is marvellous and unpretentious

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckerbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic Riad in a lovely town. Room was very nice, the only negatives were that some of the fittings were broken (light bulbs and toilet roll holder), but not enough to deter from a lovely stay. Excellent breakfast and exceptional staff.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank R_travel_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Riad Malaika for two nights at the beginning fo January.

It is a vey nice riad -- with an excellent Moroccan staff, very helpful, kind and smiling. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, nevertheless very discrete. It is owned by a highly-professional French couple, nevertheless it gives the feeling to be in a typical Moroccan riad, with all commodities.

The rooms are nice and clean. Ours (n.5) was at first floor, very silent and the brighter we have experienced in our Moroccan stay. At night you could close the baffles, and enjoy a nice sleep.

Breakfast is varied and very tasty. Prices are fair, and no extra-fee is asked if paying with a credit card. WiFi is okay in the chilling lounge area, with lovely lights and even a chimney.

I highly recommend Riad Malaika, and I would definitely come back here if I travelled again to Essaouira!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunfloweringirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Disclosure: This review is simply regarding the customer service we received from the hotel during the booking -- and more specifically -- the cancellation process.

We booked the Riad Malaika during our trip planning to Morocco and were excited to visit based on the quality of many of the other reviews we read. Unfortunately, we had to cancel the entire trip at the last minute. We'd made reservations through booking.com and had to cancel after the free cancellation period had expired. When I contacted the hotel, they were sympathetic to our misfortune and allowed us to pay only a percentage of what we otherwise would have had to pay. It was beyond what they legally had to do, so we very much appreciated that gesture amidst our disappointment at a foiled trip.

We plan to visit Riad Malaika when we're able to reschedule our trip to Morocco.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sleugers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have rarely felt so welcome and attended to. Our rooftop suite was beautiful and provided a peaceful base from which to explore the seaside town. We did not receive better service in any other riad throughout our holiday in Morocco. What a great taste of moroccan luxury!

Room Tip: Our top floor suite opened on to the roof terrace and had room for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for a week in Dec & would love to stay here again. The staff really look after their guests and are generous with their time and local knowledge. We had a great room. Even when full it was really quiet. Lovely fire to come home to at night in the main sitting area. We stayed the full week and breakfasts change from day to day. Food can be ordered in at night if you want to stay in. We were lucky enough to go to a local hammam with some of the staff & recommend it if you want to experience something different.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ballygorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,129 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autantic Riad Xviii In Essaouira-morroco, Quiet In The Heart Of The Medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing