We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, but the price was so high!”
Review of Al Jasira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Jasira Hotel
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good hotel, but the price was so high!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I was in this hotel for 9 days, and I definitely cannot say it was bad! the only criticism that I find myself obliged to make is that the price was high to be in Morocco, probably due to its 4 stars (undeserved), 3 were right! we were 3 guys and we booked a specific room, but they gave us another one...despite this, we complained, they were kind and they lowered the price of our booking! has a nice swimming pool, covered from the strong wind (which I find very important)!
the hotel is clean and in you cannot complain about the service! is located slightly out of the city centre but it's accessible by a 15/20 minutes walk on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giovanni191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
34
41
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essaouira, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for a winter break with our kids. The staff are lovely and friendly. The double standard rooms are a bit basic and the bathrooms are in need of an update. We frequently had no hot water for showers etc which was annoying. I wish we'd asked for an upgrade as the suites look lovely (rooms 207 & 206 I think). The breakfast was ok: bread and pastries. Supper was basic and not Moroccan (chicken and chips) which our kids thought was great. Pool was too cold to swim sadly. The walk to the beach is easy and the walk into town is lovely. Taxis only 7DH if you don't want to walk. I recommend this if you are on a budget as it's a friendly place and perfectly comfortable.

Room Tip: Suites much nicer (207 and 206 looked good). Avoid 211 at the top of the stairs, looking over the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hustlemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Friendly welcome but rooms were up and down, here and there. Unless you closed the curtains you were on show to the world. Pool was compact and between the buildings - avoid a room here because anyone in the pool and making noise will be too much. Just over the road from the beach where the camel rides are and a couple of restaurants. The walk into the town along the beach front is nice enough but a fast 20 minutes or leisurely half hour.

Room Tip: Away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleEnglandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. We were located in the villa around the corner from the hotel - the place was amazing - traditional furnishings and a very large balcony, only downside were the water supply and shower facilities (bath with a shower attachment), air conditioning worked well. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. They arranged for a taxi back to the airport, trips on camel and horseback as well as calling a doctor out for me!I I had to go on a light diet and they were only too willing to prepare what I had requested. The taxis to the Medina cost less than 60p and easy to get. If ever I revisit Essaouria I would definiteystay at the Al Jasira, great value and great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We were booked here for a stay of 2 weeks to chill out after a long journey. The staff were friendly yet quite relaxed. The walk into the Medina gave ua regular exercise. Rooms and ensuite kept very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very poor value for money, offer just mobile air condition untis which were ot in our rooms to start with. Although they can take cards for payment they insisted to get some on the money in cash!
Breakfast ws OK though and also rooms are not too bad

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafTheDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Recently I visited Essaouria and stayed in Al Jasira Hotel. The hotel has nice location near the beach. Hotel staff were very efficient and helpful. It is bit old style and some furniture need replacement but over all it seems fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#38 of 74 in Essaouira
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vent des Dunes
Hotel Vent des Dunes
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Iles
Hotel des Iles
#49 of 74 in Essaouira
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Jasira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Jasira Hotel

Property: Al Jasira Hotel
Address: 18 Rue Mly Ali Cherif quartier des dunes, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Jasira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
charming hotel in Essaouira good value,with SPA and fitness ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Jasira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing