We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway.”
other travelers have booked this property
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area Ground Floor: Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area
Ground Floor: Dining area
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area – fire place
Open courtyard dar (exposed light well) / Kitchen (stairs to 1st Floor)
Corridor
1st Floor: Bedroom 1
1st Floor: Bedroom 1
1st Floor: Bedroom 1 (shelving)
Bedroom 1 (detail) / 1st Roof Terrace (looking to Top Terrace)
1st Roof Terrace (view from Top Terrace)
2nd Floor: Bedroom 2
2nd Floor: Bedroom 2
2nd Floor: Bedroom 2 (shelving)
Bathroom
Bathroom
Top Terrace (left) / 1st Roof Terrace (right)
Looking down from Top Terrace to Ground Floor
Front Door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fiona S
1 review
“The perfect getaway.”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Essaouira is an incredibly special place and being at Dar Emma really enhances your stay. It's a gorgeous, stylish house - beautifully laid out over four floors and perfectly located inside the Medina where everything is incredibly close by. What made it particularly special, were the excursions Emma organised for us - a trip with Mohamed to a non-touristy market and lunch at a shack on his land overlooking a remote beach that was followed by a long walk to the sand dunes and waterfalls. Dar Emma is everything Essaouira is - a place you really want to go back to.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea D
2 reviews
“Unforgettable week”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Staying at Emma's place was incredible. It's in a great location, tucked into a little street in the medina. Also, Emma took us around the medina when we arrived and introduced us to the place and to her many friends in town who run local businesses. This turned out to be the most useful hour on our trip--every one of her recommendations were spot-on wonderful. Staying here is like being in your own very cool home--if your own home had a daily cleaning service and on-call concierge. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover7...
1 review
“restful peaceful”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

we have stayed at emmas home before…i love the atmosphere and the comfort she creates. this home is very central to fresh food market and other shops and eateries….go down the alley ways go into the out of the way eateries it's worth it.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rrruth
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stylish, unique and cosy Riad in the medina”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Dar Emma is right in the medina, near to the beach, market, cafes and restaurants. The interior is unique and very stylish - as you'd expect from a place that's been in so many interiors and travel mags. It really is beautiful. We loved having a fire in the evening, and hanging out on the roof terrace in the day. The dinner made by the housekeeper was excellent and highly recommended - there's lots of it too! Emma also arranged a luxury hammam and massage for me - this was fantastic and is highly recommended.

Emma was a great host too. She wasn't there in person but was always available on WhatsApp and always got back to us really quickly. Her friend Mohammad was there to welcome us and show us round the town, even making the journey to the supermarket on the edge of town to get us some beers.

We stayed with our 2 year old daughter who unfortunately got tonsillitis while we were there. Emma was amazingly supportive, helping us reschedule the hammam we'd booked, and giving us advice about pharmacists etc. She was really patient and went above and beyond to help us.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
op102no1
New York City, New York
1 review
“A great and relaxing stay in Essaouira”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

First off, Emma was amazing. Very good communication ahead of time. She arranged our car from Marrakech, met us at the taxi stand, and took her time while she showed us around the Medina and introduced us to a few people. She had asked ahead of time whether we would like the fridge stocked and so we had a cold Casablanca waiting when we began to settle in. Amina the housekeeper prepared two meals for us which were both very fine. We are both happy to have found Dar Emma and would stay there again without reservation.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Dar Emma is super cute. The 3 story house is in the best location right in the heart of the Medina with an easy walk to the beach and all restaurants.

The house has a bohemian charm, a sunny roof terrace for sun bathing and night stargazing, as well as all modern bathroom. A super comfy bed too with luxurious linens.

Emma was a great help organising transport and with expert advice on hand for places to go and experience. A trip out to the beach one evening was magical.

A great place to return, the perfect secret hideaway.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcd201...
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Return to Dar Emma”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

So happy to be back in this perfect little Beldi house right in the heart of the hustle and bustle that is the Medina and moments from the harbor and the beach. Without Emma and Mohamed on hand we would never have witnessed the curiosities of the early morning souk or experienced a traditional meshoui sat on stunning headland by firelight watching the sun set over the dunes. On quiet days we retreated to the haven that is Dar Emma, stretched out on the daybed in the sunshine of the terrace and dreamed on the dinner that Amina would bring for us that evening. Bliss!

Date of stay: March 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing