We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical”
other travelers have booked this property
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area Ground Floor: Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area
Ground Floor: Dining area
Ground Floor: open plan Kitchen / Dining area – fire place
Open courtyard dar (exposed light well) / Kitchen (stairs to 1st Floor)
Corridor
1st Floor: Bedroom 1
1st Floor: Bedroom 1
1st Floor: Bedroom 1 (shelving)
Bedroom 1 (detail) / 1st Roof Terrace (looking to Top Terrace)
1st Roof Terrace (view from Top Terrace)
2nd Floor: Bedroom 2
2nd Floor: Bedroom 2
2nd Floor: Bedroom 2 (shelving)
Bathroom
Bathroom
Top Terrace (left) / 1st Roof Terrace (right)
Looking down from Top Terrace to Ground Floor
Front Door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Andrea B
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Dar Emma is super cute. The 3 story house is in the best location right in the heart of the Medina with an easy walk to the beach and all restaurants.

The house has a bohemian charm, a sunny roof terrace for sun bathing and night stargazing, as well as all modern bathroom. A super comfy bed too with luxurious linens.

Emma was a great help organising transport and with expert advice on hand for places to go and experience. A trip out to the beach one evening was magical.

A great place to return, the perfect secret hideaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimcd201...
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Return to Dar Emma”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

So happy to be back in this perfect little Beldi house right in the heart of the hustle and bustle that is the Medina and moments from the harbor and the beach. Without Emma and Mohamed on hand we would never have witnessed the curiosities of the early morning souk or experienced a traditional meshoui sat on stunning headland by firelight watching the sun set over the dunes. On quiet days we retreated to the haven that is Dar Emma, stretched out on the daybed in the sunshine of the terrace and dreamed on the dinner that Amina would bring for us that evening. Bliss!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemaria...
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Cosy feel at home little paradise all for yourself”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The moment you enter Dar Emma you feel at home. It's the size of this 'little riad' and the interior design that does it: warm colours, beautiful tiles, furniture, fireplace, roof terrace .. We stayed for a week and didn't want to leave really.
Waking up at the sound of seagulls, breakfast in the sun on your own roof terrace, strolling around in laidback Essaouira .. if you're looking for a place to really wind down and just be: this is it.

Emma's great : anything you want, Emma can arrange it. Definitely go for Amina's tajine and Mohamed's little paradise by the beach in Sidi Kaouki .. you'll love it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benonijam...
Munich, Germany
1 review
“a tiny little gem of a house in the median of essaouira”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 10 days at Dar Emma this summer. Such a beautiful tiny little house. It´s really lovely and you feel like being at home almost instantly. The open stairways.. the beautiful decorated rooms, the tiles, the fireplace .. the showerroom .. both of the roof terraces......
Although its not very big you never feel confined in anyway.
Emma is a really friendly and helpful person and if there are any needs just give her a call and she´ll try to help and do the best she can to make your trip a niceone.
If you want to stay in essaouira and can´t recommend that gem of a house highly enough!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazingly stylish bijoux house in the heart of the medina”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Dar Emma is a real find. Beautifully decorated in a modern Moroccan way with personal touches and all facilities at hand. We stayed a week and enjoyed basking in the sun on the terrace and slept soundly in the cozy and comfortable bedrooms. The bathroom was a delight after a day on the surf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJHWP
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“just what we wanted!”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Thank you Emma for our lovely stay. My husband and I and 2 children (9 and 6) spent May half-term here. It was a perfect mix of adventure and relaxation. Emma's house is super-cool with a strong Moroccan vibe and full of character. We loved having total privacy whilst being in the centre of the Medina. Emma took us round and told us all the essentials we needed to know - best cafe, best fish restaurant, best general restaurants, best shops for all my shopping desires and even the hammam to visit- which she could book for us too. We also spent a day at a hotel pool which she recommended and booked for us ( it was beautiful). Emma was a phone call away whenever we needed her and brilliantly helpful. It was so inspirational staying in her townhouse, surrounded by the Essaouiran life and our children loved it too. We came home and all really felt we'd seen and done something different - so much more than would have been possible in a hotel. Amina, Emma's housekeeper came everyday to clean and tidy and also cooked for us which was such a treat! The stairs are steep and would be tricky for younger children but fine for us. No roof! We would all highly recommend this holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: style and location and Emma
Liked least: steep stairs
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toppidopp...
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Thank you, Emma”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We - my daughters and I - simply fell in love with Essaouira and enjoyed every moment of our 3 days, 15.-18. March, at Dar Emma. It was a perfect base with the best location. The house is beautiful, small and spacious at the same time. We enjoyed breakfast on the sunny terraces as well as the cosiness in front of the fireplace in the kitchen.

But most of all we want to thank Emma Wilson for being such a great and thoughtful host. Emma arranged transfer, walked us around town to show us all the best places, made reservations at the best restaurants, got wine for the house, etc. But she also had suggestions for activities and organised a trip to a weekly market outside of Essaouira. That was a unique and very authentic experience, we have never before seen that many donkeys gathered at the same place!
Horseback and dromedary riding was later arranged (with the company also to be found in Emma's own information binder) and enjoyed.

We asked to see Dar Beida, and Emma took the time to show us. Wow, what a place!! We loved it. We do intend to come back - and for a longer stay next time.

Thank you Emma!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style & location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing