We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Anyone for tea?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #43 of 253 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Cantina Essaouira is an English cafe serving delicious home-cooked English and international food, juices and smoothies. Popular dishes include jacket potatoes, chilli con carne, vegetarian curries and stir-fries and the best burgers in North Africa! For those with a sweet tooth, carrot cake, warm banana bread drizzled with honey and fresh scones with jam and cream are an absolute must.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anyone for tea?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Walking around the Medina, found La Cantina quite by chance, although it had been recommended to us by a family we met when camel riding! Great spot to have a break. Given I am "Love the cake" on Trip Advisor, cake was the only option for me so I had a great cup of English Tea and fantastic carrot cake while my daughter had a super smoothie and the burger, voted the best in North Africa! Who are we to disagree?
After lots of Moroccan food, made a great change and the food and presentation were top quality. Many thanks to Jan and Cathy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovethecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    71
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious meal ,pleasant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

well ,we had lunch in this nice spot. a small restaurant managed by a couple ,a very nice couple .we were served in a good way .the meals were very delicious .it s very clean,the meals are different from what we are used to find in mostly all restaurants in Essaouira.desserts are very delicious and overall when you go once you feel like returning all the time.sure we ll return to eat there whenever we visit Essaouira.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soussou19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great little lunch spot if you're looking for a break from the traditional tagine. Wonderful location in a little square at the heart of the medina.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
“Good Food Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great little place! Good food, great cakes, really friendly atmosphere and a good cuppa tea! Ideal place to sit, eat and chat - with the staff too if they are not ultra-busy. Perfect for when tagines and couscous are just too heavy in the sunshine. Great burgers and carrot cake to die for. Actually, all the cakes are to die for!!! Definitely worth at least one visit when in Essaouira. Shame they don't open in the evening but great for late lunch/early dinner. Perfect to sit and watch local life in the little square

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daizeedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More Burger than Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Chilli cheese burger was delicious. The staff were great and friendly but hardly anything Mexican in sight.

The salad my girlfriend had was not the freshest unfortunately.

Would recommend the burger if you want a break from traditional Moroccan food but that's about it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing