We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent in Essaouira” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #46 of 256 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Cantina Essaouira is an English cafe serving delicious home-cooked English and international food, juices and smoothies. Popular dishes include jacket potatoes, chilli con carne, vegetarian curries and stir-fries and the best burgers in North Africa! For those with a sweet tooth, carrot cake, warm banana bread drizzled with honey and fresh scones with jam and cream are an absolute must.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent in Essaouira”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great food, friendly helpfull staff, fresh food and bread, if you want something different to the rest,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    71
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Best Hamburger in Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stuffed baked potatoes, chili con carne, freshly baked scones at tea time , legendary cheeseburgers on home made Portugese rolls but most of all there's Sharon and Sandy both Brits who know everything about making diner food taste and look like haute cuisine...Service, food, cozy ambience and hospitality make La Cantina a standout in Essaouira.Don't miss it.

Helpful?
Thank ormerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honefoss, Norway
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

During our stay in Essaouira we have been at La Cantina twice.
A lovley little cafe in a nice open place.
The food is okei. Place is clean, and owner is very friendly. Hamburgers and baked potatoes with chili.
Good for a change if you are tired from morocon dishes.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Spend 4 days in Essaouira and I stopped by every day. As a vegetarian I can't judge the burgers but I had a very nice curry. The terrace is a perfect spot to escape a moment of the busy streets nearby. Small plaza is such a charming place, I loved it! Very friendly staff, clean restaurant and bathroom.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Cup of tea was very welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was our last morning in Essaouria and while having one last look around the shops I saw a sign saying 'English Tea!'
Well you could hear me scream with delight back in Marrakech I imagine as I was so happy.
I called my friends who were looking in a tile shop over and in we went into this tiny little cafe.

Once in there a familar accent greeted us, a lovely woman called Sharon from Sheffield, who said that they didn't open till 12 but if its just a brew that we want then take a seat! After days of mint tea which I am not a big fan of, a good English brew was most welcome!

Highly recommend if your like me and just sometimes crave the comfort of home! Small but perfectly formed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing