We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Magical Accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad des Palmiers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad des Palmiers
Ranked #56 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical Accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Utterly beautiful, serene accommodation to a very high finish. I can't recommend this place enough. Utterly relaxing garden enclosed by the original medina wall combined with a roof terrace to take in stunning views across the magical town of Essaouira. The rooms are all ensuite, extremely comfortable and have very individual characteristics. Perfect Moroccan decadence at a fantastic price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Essaouira in winter was a great surprise. Its a beautiful town, the harbour one of the most exiting places and the Riad des Palmiers is a great place to be for an extended family. It easily fits 12 persons and it never feels crowded. Beautiful garden and terraces for joint use and great rooms with private bathrooms in case you want some privacy. And always the choice to be in or outside the wind. The view is terrific and it doesn't feel ''locked'' into the Medina. It has a real Maroccan touch with beautifil tiles and cozy furniture and well equipped kitchens. A minute walk only to the local shops and the heart of the Medina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pietje v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Know this beautiful part of Morocco fairly well and on last trip wanted somewhere a bit special for family celebration.Done a lot of research and chose Dianes riad called Des Palmiers.I made the right choice and feel I have to take the time to write this review as its others taking the time to write that I found this place. Perfect location just inside Medina walls.We were able to relax as if we were in our own place
.Great staff,only there when you needed them. Stylish house and look forward to returning.Would advise that for 4 or more people well worth trying to book the whole 3 floors. Plunge pool,tortoise in lovely garden.Sun roof available to all and the top floor has beautiful sun terrace.
Weather was also fantastic everyday.Returning at 4am to Manchester with minus 4 temp we all really missed our Riad des Palmiers

Don McCabe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonBIMarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My first time self catering in Marocco. Diana leaves nothing to chance and helps you in every way even from a distance. Her factual sheet is recommended to follow fro arriving at the airport to your departure. Riad very clean and I had booked floor with veranda which had great views out to sea.

Room Tip: Top Floor if not renting whole Riad for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Invernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Riad is a gem. The owner, Diane, has restored the property to an excellent standard, keeping its essential character and adding touches of her own decor to make the place truly special. The place is more open and airy than most riads in the Medina, due to the very large light well and the beautiful garden behind the house. The garden is very private, and backs up to the city wall -- a really gorgeous setting for sunbathing or having dinner under the palms. The little pool in the corner is just perfect for cooling down if you are lounging in the sun and feeling a bit too toasty. This is a really delightful house! I would recommend it highly, and hope I have the chance to stay there again. That garden makes me want to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k_m_s280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We returned to Essaouira for the 2nd time - already in love with the town, so the Riad was the only unknown. The house is wonderful - a brilliant resoration job with lots of individual details. The garden and plunge pool were a unique benefit (very unusual in an Essaourian riad) and it was great to have the ability to relax in our own oasis of tranquility after a morning wandering around the souqs. The children loved the tortoises. The house was kept beautifully clean by Fasiah (sp) with sheets cleaned mid week and Abdul was on hand any time we needed any help.

I really can't praise the riad enough - we hope very much to return. My only other comment would be that we rented the whole house (as we travelled with friends). If we returned alone then we would rent the 2nd floor (with access to the garden) - this would only be a problem if those on the ground floor wanted some peace and quiet as the whole house is quite open.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasperc163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My compulsion to escape the horror that is Christmas brought me once again to Essaouria, making this my 5th visit. Why do I keep returning? Essaouria has the right balance between relaxation - a long, part-duney beach; toasty winter sunshine; low-hassle-locals - and historic and cultural interest. After five visits the latter is allowed to take a back seat, or rather a sun lounger. Which is where I spent most of a cloud-free 2 week spell over Christmas and New Year. This sun lounger was situated on a lovely tiled terrace, at the top of a charming Riad, over looking the sea. I've stayed at a few Riads in the town by now, and this is one I would certainly recommend to anyone who wants to be looked after, but also left-alone to do your own thing. Riads, especially those close to the sea, can get very chilly at night, and feel very damp. Not this one. It's on the Eastern side, which is the driest, and whilst it has sea views, it's not so close to be damp. Another bonus (this will sound odd to anyone who hasn't had this happen to them), being a way back from the sea means fewer seagulls. The squawk of these beasts is one of the sounds of the town; preventing them dive bombing your breakfast to steal your bread or butter is one of the sports that usually grace terrace top dining of a morning. They are pretty brazen, so it's nice not to have to keep one eye on the skies while you tuck into the morning delights. Breakfast is not included at this riad, but there is a little kitchen where you can prepare coffee, and buying fresh bread every day became one of the rituals of riad living.

The riad has recently been converted from an old house, so is in very good decorative order. You're looked after by a lovely lady who cleans and smiles. There is even a small plunge pool attached to one of the apartments in a sweet palm-fringed garden, haunted by a family of tortoises. The riad is situated by a bustling area where the locals shop, but is tranquil once you shut the heavy door on the noise of the world outside. The sea is there to stare at during the day; the stars at night. Whilst it's usually too cold to sit out on the terrace in winter at riads closer to the sea, here you can. I was really impressed by the quality of the rooms for the money. It's a great place to stay for anyone's first trip to this amazing town.

Room Tip: The middle one where I stayed has a private terrace. The ones below get to use the garden and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helioholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#30 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad L'Eucalyptus
Riad L'Eucalyptus
#63 of 178 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Mer
Riad de la Mer
#76 of 178 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rebali Riads
Rebali Riads
#4 of 178 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad des Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Palmiers

Property: Riad des Palmiers
Address: 10, Rue Tripoli | Essaouira Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad des Palmiers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad des Palmiers (so-called because there are 3 ancient palm trees in the garden) is situated in the medina, overlooking the beach. The house can be rented in its entirety, or by the apartment (of which there are 3 laid out over 3 floors). There is a large roof terrace on the top floor, and a beautiful garden with a 10 sq. metre plunge pool, very rare for Essaouira and the only one in the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad des Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing