We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A dream in white and blue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sidi Magdoul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A dream in white and blue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in this riad for several nights in between our trip around Marocco and liked it very much. The staff are very helpful. Rooms are nice and clean and if when there were several rooms available we could choose where to stay, so we tried 3 types of rooms. There are no airconditioners, but actually we did not need them as the air is pretty fresh. To get access to WiFi you need to come to the reception, but as we did not come to spend our time in Internet this was not a problem. We had an early departure and our request we got our breakfast packed and ready for the trip. Very good location and very good service, and the place is beatifully painted white and blue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
58
77
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good value for money and excellent location - right in the medina and close to the beach or bus station. Rooms are simple but clean and comfy, wi-fi is working very well and the staff is just amazing. They were very helpful and nothing we asked for was a problem for them.
Breakfast was very good and we appreciated the fact we could use the kitchen on evenings :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DominikaAgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had three nights at this lovely Riad and found it extremely close to everything, right in the medina and well equipped.

Staff were very friendly and willing to help with any question or matter.

Breakfast was very nice and included in the price.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the Riad itself was very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We found the hotel Sidi Magdoul, because it was mentioned in my travel book. And we were very happy with our choice! It's a nice little place with excellent price value directly in the medina!
All the people working here did a great job! When we asked for help with booking a grand taxi and immediatley they called a taxi driver who picked us up at the Riad the next day!
Also when we asked for a place for a cooking class we were sent to a restaurant where we could ask for a little introduction in making chicken pastilla!
The rooms are also quite big and the beds are comfortable! I would stay here again! They also have bigger rooms for 4-6 people so it could be also interesting to stay here for groups!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It cost the same as the Riad in Marrakech but was half as nice!

The rooms were clean and bathroom was ok (clean but a bit dark, humid and the shower made the entire bathroom floor wet!). The entire Riad lacked character - unless old and dilapidated was its intention! The place needs a new painting and some love!

The breakfast was mediocre and the food not great. On the first day we were greeted by a grumpy and incredibly unhelpful staff member who fortunately was replaced by another person the next day. Perhaps the regular person was on holiday?

The wifi only worked downstairs and not in the rooms. The Riad is however centrally located.

I will however not return here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielfernan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We hadn't looked at any riads arriving in Essaouira, and night had already fallen.
Sidi Magdoul immediately took us in for a nice price and hooked us up with a room on the top floor, next to the roof terrace. We basically chilled the whole morning sitting in the sun on the roof terrace, listening to some music, watching the birds fly and cats jump from roof to roof. Essaouira is a beautiful city, but the terrace is just awesome to chill out too.

We returned to Sidi Magdoul a week later the night before catching our flight. Again, a perfect experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Easily found - 10 mins walk from the car parks near the port. Very central and quiet - down a dark passage, lovely! Excellent breakfast of eggs, bread, pancakes, etc. - good coffee. Good wifi downstairs. Comfy beds and all very clean. Good views from the roof. Well priced and made very welcome by the staff who did not try to overwhelm.

Room Tip: Our room for three (no 8) had 1 double and 2 single beds - all spread out nicely for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FreddyFred2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#37 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#39 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#35 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#22 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tweets Hotel
Tweets Hotel
#34 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Magdoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Magdoul

Property: Riad Sidi Magdoul
Address: 21 Rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sidi Magdoul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Sidi Magdoul is located just a few steps from the picturesque port (parking with municipal attendant) and the vast beach of Essaouira, in the heart of the artistic and artisan neighbourhoods of the Medina, souks, restaurants, galleries, cafes. The Riad is made of ten rooms all with private bathroom, placed on three floors around a large ‘puits de jour’ – an open space in the center of the Riad from which the light pours in.A bright and sunny terrace offers a view on the roofs of the Medina.Wireless internet connection (WIFI) is freely available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Sidi Magdoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing