We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely friendly and willing to help staff, nice rooms and great location”
Review of Riad Sidi Magdoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly and willing to help staff, nice rooms and great location”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had three nights at this lovely Riad and found it extremely close to everything, right in the medina and well equipped.

Staff were very friendly and willing to help with any question or matter.

Breakfast was very nice and included in the price.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the Riad itself was very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    92
    14
    13
    5
See reviews for
64
86
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We found the hotel Sidi Magdoul, because it was mentioned in my travel book. And we were very happy with our choice! It's a nice little place with excellent price value directly in the medina!
All the people working here did a great job! When we asked for help with booking a grand taxi and immediatley they called a taxi driver who picked us up at the Riad the next day!
Also when we asked for a place for a cooking class we were sent to a restaurant where we could ask for a little introduction in making chicken pastilla!
The rooms are also quite big and the beds are comfortable! I would stay here again! They also have bigger rooms for 4-6 people so it could be also interesting to stay here for groups!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It cost the same as the Riad in Marrakech but was half as nice!

The rooms were clean and bathroom was ok (clean but a bit dark, humid and the shower made the entire bathroom floor wet!). The entire Riad lacked character - unless old and dilapidated was its intention! The place needs a new painting and some love!

The breakfast was mediocre and the food not great. On the first day we were greeted by a grumpy and incredibly unhelpful staff member who fortunately was replaced by another person the next day. Perhaps the regular person was on holiday?

The wifi only worked downstairs and not in the rooms. The Riad is however centrally located.

I will however not return here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielfernan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We hadn't looked at any riads arriving in Essaouira, and night had already fallen.
Sidi Magdoul immediately took us in for a nice price and hooked us up with a room on the top floor, next to the roof terrace. We basically chilled the whole morning sitting in the sun on the roof terrace, listening to some music, watching the birds fly and cats jump from roof to roof. Essaouira is a beautiful city, but the terrace is just awesome to chill out too.

We returned to Sidi Magdoul a week later the night before catching our flight. Again, a perfect experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Easily found - 10 mins walk from the car parks near the port. Very central and quiet - down a dark passage, lovely! Excellent breakfast of eggs, bread, pancakes, etc. - good coffee. Good wifi downstairs. Comfy beds and all very clean. Good views from the roof. Well priced and made very welcome by the staff who did not try to overwhelm.

Room Tip: Our room for three (no 8) had 1 double and 2 single beds - all spread out nicely for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FreddyFred2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My experience with this riad was pretty good.
As usual they welcomed us with green tea with mint leaves, and then lead us to our big, clean room, taking our heaviest piece of luggage along the steep stairs.
We stayed on the first or second floor, I don'r remember, and unfortunately the free wi-fi network didn't work very much, but actually I don't care much about it.
Breakfast was good and varying.
Most important, the riad is in the center of the medina, between the two most lively avenues, but still silent and peaceful at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank simonecip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A quiet and spacious hotel nestled between the two large tourist streets in Essaouira, Sidi Magdoul is a secret gem. The rooms are large, comfortable, and clean, with a private bathroom attached. The breakfast is prepared hot for each new arrival, and the orange juice is freshly squeezed. For the price they ask, Sidi Magdoul is excellent - but it's the service that really takes them above and beyond. A friend got quite ill during our stay, but the hotel employees helped us with everything from carrying her down the stairs to offering toilet paper and blankets when the hospital had none. I will undoubtedly return to Sidi Magdoul, and I recommend it to anyone heading to Essaouira!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#43 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#38 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Magdoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Magdoul

Property: Riad Sidi Magdoul
Address: 21 Rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sidi Magdoul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Sidi Magdoul is located just a few steps from the picturesque port (parking with municipal attendant) and the vast beach of Essaouira, in the heart of the artistic and artisan neighbourhoods of the Medina, souks, restaurants, galleries, cafes. The Riad is made of ten rooms all with private bathroom, placed on three floors around a large ‘puits de jour’ – an open space in the center of the Riad from which the light pours in.A bright and sunny terrace offers a view on the roofs of the Medina.Wireless internet connection (WIFI) is freely available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Sidi Magdoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing