We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Its just the most amazing house”
other traveler has booked this property
3rd Floor – Roof Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3rd Floor – Roof Terrace
Ground Floor: Entrance Ground Floor: Entrance Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
3rd Floor – Roof Terrace
Ground Floor: Entrance
Ground Floor: Entrance Hall
Ground Floor: Entrance Hall
Ground Floor: Library
1st Floor: Central Light Well
1st Floor: Open Plan Kitchen / Dining
1st Floor: Dining Area
1st Floor: Open Plan Kitchen / Dining
1st Floor: Snug with open fires, music, books, board games, phone and free WiFi
1st Floor: Snug with open fires, music, books, board games, phone and free WiFi
1st Floor: Bedroom 1
1st Floor: Bathroom (wet room with shower, loo and sink)
2nd Floor: Bedroom 2 (stairs to bed – perfect for teenagers)
2nd Floor: Bedroom 3
2nd Floor: Main Roof Terrace
2nd Floor: Main Roof Terrace
3rd Floor: Bedroom 4 with private Roof Terrace (with sink)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its just the most amazing house”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Dar Beida:

This is the most fabulous place to stay in Essouria. The house is wonderfully decorated, over 4 floors with 2 large roof terraces to sit and enjoy the sunshine. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Essouria then you really should consider booking here.

Situated in the heart of the Medina it is an oasis of calm, against the amazing backdrop of the hustle and bustle right on your doorstep. The house has everything you could possibly want, comfortable beds, brilliant decor and a fabulous big kitchen and dining area. And Wi-fi !

Emma the owner is just amazing and NOTHING is too much trouble for her. She is there to make sure that your trip is care free and relaxing. She is the most gracious host. She knows where to go in terms of food and her recommendations were always spot on.

The house has everything that you can want, and its super stylish.

All in all if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Essouria this is the ONLY place to go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernini55
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent location for your stay with a group (max. 8) in Marokko”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Beida, thank you for having us!
The house is so well designed and well-equiped, it has been a great pleasure for the six of us. Emma and Graham did a great job in re-designing the riad in Essouira. We recommend this house for any group of maximum 8 people to enjoy a relaxing holiday at the Atlantic coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintone
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing bad to say”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Dar Beida is a beautiful Moroccan Townhouse located in the backstreets of The Medina. It's close to anything you may want to buy from fresh baguettes sold direct from the wood-fired oven to the amazing range of fresh produce on offer in the main shopping market 2 minutes away. We felt welcomed by everyone we met and were sad to say goodbye to our new local friends when we left.
The house is a real treat. Plenty of comfortable nooks and crannies to hide away with a book. Two good roof terraces and a great main kitchen and living area. THe house was clean throughout thanks to the lovely Amina who came every day (and cooked one night for us too). Bedrooms are lovely too. Kids had one each and my wife and I took the crows nest up a final set of external steps with its own roof terrace and big glass doors.
If you want a base to get to see and feel part of the town stay here. We certainly will be again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having plenty of space in the middle of town
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D
1 review
“One of the most special holidays we've ever had”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Dar Beida is an incredible place to stay and we'd recommend it to anyone. My boyfriend and I visited for 8 nights and Emma made it very special by being the perfect host - we booked through an agent (not something we usually do but we'd arranged it last minute so had handed all the arrangements over to someone else for ease and speed) and Emma liaised with them to organise our transfers from Marrakech before meeting us in Essaouira and giving us a really thorough and thoughtful tour of not just the house but also the Medina.. which is one of the most atmospheric places we'd ever visited. The house is gorgeous, and very stylish - and I'm fussy about holiday rentals so this is high praise! Emma gave us lots of useful tips and recommendations of things to do - and the suggestions of hers that we tried, including horse riding, a day at a gorgeous pool set in beautiful gardens, a hammam and a couple of eating/ drinking spots were all brilliant. The friendly housekeeper at the house, Amina, is an excellent cook too and her homemade tagine on the evening of our arrival was delicious. Essaouira is also an excellent holiday destination - with friendly people, good weather (we were particularly lucky in the week we were there with temperatures in the mid 20s), great seafood (eating at a fish stall by the quay is a must during any stay here), plenty to see and do but also enough of a relaxed atmosphere to get some good rest and relaxation if that's what you're after - which we were. The roof terraces at the house are cleverly designed to be both sunny and private so I spent several languid mornings just relaxing in the sun reading which is exactly how I'd been hoping to spend part of the holiday! The calls to prayer that ring out through town via loudspeakers at intervals during the day also really added to the atmosphere and the overall experience. For me it was a fabulous introduction to Morocco and I'd love to go back. Highly recommended, whether for a couple or a group of friends or a family. Thank you Emma!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Emma's service; the beautiful house; the atmosphere of the area.
Liked least: The one thing lacking in the house was a comfortable sofa.. but this is a very small criticism!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella...
1 review
“Stylish, comfortable, relaxed”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a very lovely week in Essaouira, in great part due to Emma's suggestions and huge amount of help dealing with best places to go, best ways to get to them and how much to pay- which all could have felt a bit daunting, especially with granny and 3 kids (6,9 and 10) in tow.
Dar Beida was stylish, comfortable and relaxed, close to everything and at the centre of the Medina. We felt right in the heart of it and had a proper holiday away from it all, but with some of the comforts which allow you to relax, sleep well, eat well- and yet still have an adventure.
Huge thanks to Emma, and Amina who came to tidy daily as well as cooked us 3 amazing meals. I wish we were still there!
I would highly recommend Dar Beida.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the suggestions , and the help navigating the town and vendors
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sols
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly amazing Dar Beida (& Emma) – A gem of a place in Essaouira”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We are just back (December) from a wonderful stay at Dar Beida. Emma is amazing and she made it so wonderfully easy to arrange the booking and during our stay which was a special family holiday.
Emma arranged our transfers to and from Marrakech and she was at the house to greet us when we arrived. It is in the heart of the Medina but a quiet and peaceful oasis of calm once inside the front door. It truly is an amazing place with so much space (4 floors), gorgeously decorated living rooms and bedrooms and stunning views from the terraces. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need if you want to prepare meals and Emma generously provided supplies (oranges, etc;) to get us started.
When we arrived Emma took us on a walking tour of the Medina and pointed out good and favourite places to eat and shop and a fabulous place for espressos (we need our coffee each morning!) near the port that we frequented every day. The first night she arranged for the housekeeper Amina to make us dinner – an abundant meal of sensational tagines that should not be missed! Also Amina comes in every day to clean and make the beds – she is such a lovely person too and the place “gleamed” each day after her visit.
Dar Beida is a truly special and fabulous place to stay – it was our first trip to Essaouira and certainly won’t be the last. We loved having our “own house” in the Medina - we got to know the local baker and grocer for our daily supplies…and you are a few minutes’ walk from the bustling food market.
We loved being able to prepare breakfast and chill out on the terraces in the afternoon, watch fabulous sunsets and the huge seagulls….and then sit by the gorgeous open fires at night.
Emma has created an amazing house with a genuine welcome – nothing is too much trouble and her love of the place and her generosity shines through.
Highly recommended. We will definitely be back! Thank you again Emma for a wonderful and special stay.
Mary & Greg & family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved everything about Dar Beida...and Emma was amazing and so welcoming
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mws0
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful oasis of calm in the brilliant bustle of the old medina”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Emma and Dar Beida were both wonderful. Emma was the perfect host, she took us on a tour of the local area, introduced us to her favourite jewellers, carpet traders and slipper sellers – she bought us each a pair which we wore around her beautiful house for our week long stay. We took a half day cookery course at L’Atelier Madada run by Alison and Mona and made tagine, over the hour and a half it took to cook we visited Mohamed Seddiki to learn about the spices that went into our dish. As rookie tagine chefs our shared lunch was good but for the pro version go to Cafe Berbere on Rue Tanger, give them your order a couple of hours or so in advance to eat an authentic slow cooked meal. Emma also introduced us to her house cleaner Amina who cooked and delivered us a fantastic feast one night.

We loved Essaouira and Emma’s Dar Beida – perfect for soaking up the sun, the beach, the fish market and the medina. The holiday was all the better for feeling like we’d not had the bland, sanitised edit of the place – Emma’s brilliantly styled house is right in the medina, with all it’s noise and hustle but it offers the perfect retreat should you just want to read and relax. Emma ordered cabs and had our bags wheeled through the medina on arrival and departure, she booked The Beldi Country Club, 15 minutes from Marrakech airport for us to relax ahead of our flight. We could not have asked for more, such thoughtful hosting and such a beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our perfect host.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing