We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect service annd lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect service annd lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Having looked at a few Riads in Essaouira, this has to be the best or one of the best. We stayed in the Oriental suite which has a good sized room and a great bathroom.
The Riad has plenty of areas for you to sit and chill out in and the service we got was excellent. Noel and Greggy were lovely; incredibly helpful, really accommodating and a joy to deal with - a big thanks for them.

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    40
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
316
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Beautiful riad and fantastic staff without exception , I would like to address our thanks to each one of the team for making our stay memorable.
Definitely to recommend , very nice atmosphere and great breakfast

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Medina in Essaouira is smaller and less chaotic than Marrakech. But again this riad was a gem behind a wooden door leading from a non-descript street/alley way. We were greeted by friendly staff and enjoyed a glass of mint tea as our luggage was taken to our room. We were in the Tyfina Suite and my daughter and I were surprised by how comfortable the hanging chair in the room was. It was our favorite detail! The room had a beautiful ambiance – and it was also comfortable and spacious. The staff suggested some restaurants – and the two we tried were both delicious and VERY reasonably priced. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The Medina in Essaouira is smaller and less chaotic than Marrakech. But again this riad was a gem b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. The staff were delightful, our room was superb.
As it was my birthday, they also made us a special dinner and upgraded us to the rooftop suite for the night.
This was the highlight if our morocco holiday, and we'd love to revisit in the future.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairey-custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The staff is remarkable here, and the building itself is excellent. Like the rest of Essaouira, it is developing compared to Marrakech, but there is a warmth to the road that is putting them on the right course.

They do not regularly serve food past breakfast, but if you order in advance, they will make a custom dinner to order for next to nothing. There is a personal touch there that is hard to find.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that it is a walk-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed for a few nights after visiting Marrakech. The Riad is very clean, cute and a good value. The staff treats guests like family with their warm smiles and helpful service. No complaints - only advice is for physically challenged travelers. As in much of Morocco, the Riad has a lot of stairs. It didn't bother us but it could be quite a climb for an unsteady person. Also the location was a bit off the beaten path. We didn't encounter any problems with safety and it isn't a long walk from the main areas. It just feels a bit isolated. However - I noticed that the hotel L'Heure Bleue Palais was around the corner from Riad Chbnante. If the area is good enough for two highly rated hotels, it must not be too bad! Thanks again to the staff for a lovely visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wholewideworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramont-de-Guyenne, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Most of the reviews of this riad sing its praises - and with every justification. Although in the medina, which is small and easy to get around, it is on the very edge which affords it a little more calm than many others would enjoy. Warm welcome and continually helpful, attentive staff - even on departure. Room was lovely - comfortable bed, superb bathroom, good facilities including a mini-fridge and even limited satellite television if one felt the urge. Good breakfasts. There is something of an air of this place being a work in progress as it is relatively newly refurbished and some minor works are still being done. Nice roof terrace with a jacuzzi. Had a look at a number of other riads for return visits but none impressed to the same extent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.7 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Property: Riad Chbanate
Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing