We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful haven amidst a wonderful walled city”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive outside the walled city at the Chbanate gate, it is magical & breathtaking. If you call the riad, they'll fetch a cart to collect you with your baggage and you'll realise that there is nothing that is too much trouble for your hosts. The riad is just inside the gate and so very easy to remember your way back on trips out. The house is much like a small palace, with luscious decor. We stayed in the Chbanate suite at the top - absolutely stunning! You can bathe overlooking the city, with sunlight flooding into the bathroom - a dream! We had a sneak peak at other rooms and they all look gorgeous. The terraces and courtyard are well equipped for relaxing and the courtyard particularly lovely with its fountain and turtle, which our little boy loved feeding! The breakfast is amazing! Just perfect! The staff are all amazing, in particular Noel during the morning and Greggy in the afternoon/evenings - nothing is too much for them and they will give you good advice on where to visit and eat - Greggy marked up a map of all the hotspots in the city. Greggy was amazing with our little boy too. We can't thank Chbanate enough for our wonderful stay. Oh and wow, you won't mind being woken by the early mosque calls - as you stir in your sleep, it really adds a certain magic to your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 545 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Couple meters from the Cbbanate door, this riad and its personnel welcomes you from the moment your cross the entrance. From the mint tea and the cookies they serve at your arrival, to the rose petals in your room and the amazing size of our bathroom, everything was perfect. They provided great information about navigating the streets of the medina and suggestions for dinner. They even gave us a bottle of water for the road and arranged for cut flowers for our friends we were going to visit in Casablanca.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank FamilleRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

First time I have written a review and the first time I have felt somewhere was worthy of a review. This place is fantastic. Superb location and rooms are immaculate. The service was exemplary. The hosts Samira and Greggy seriously go the extra mile and will happily organise anything you need. Great coffee and juice whenever you want and the breakfast, oh the breakfast. If i'd stay any longer I would have put on a stone. Cannot reccomend highly enough. We stayed in the 130 euro room and it was perfect.

Room Tip: Go with the 130 euro room with the seated swing thing in it. it's perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank robin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We enjoy so much to stay here.
Excellent service! We had welcome tea then give us some information, some restaurants in Essauira.
My husband can't eat wheat, they gave him some special yoghourt that mix nut and dry fruits at Break fast.

All staff are look happy to work. We heard the owner care of them, so all staff are working long term. Good atmosphere. We met nice guests as well.
Also All rooms are different design, Our room has a hammock. Beautiful bath and wall, carpets !
The wall in a rooms are so nice, beautiful, shiny, made by natural material that traditional morocco style. They polish it every month.

Recommend if you want to have a romantic holiday !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yuka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Phenomenal Riad! The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating, the food was excellent, the location was great (quiet, but still centrally-located and easy to find), and the rooms were luxurious. My wife and I would unequivocally recommend this Riad to travelers.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ramon187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay - we could not have asked for more. The rooms (we had Hyate and Berber) were amazing and Greg, Samira and Noel all looked after us superbly and were very friendly and attentive. We were sad to leave and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Everything was amazing!!Stay there!!!Do not doubt!

City is Nice, Staff is fantasctic!!!! An amazing place to spend a long weekend!

Staff hotel gave us a lot of good information and good choice to go for meals. Helpful and nice.

Building and rooms are very lovely!! Quality-Price is perfect!!

If we will be back to Essaouira, We will stay there for sure

Thanks for all!!

Room Tip: Everything was amazing!!Stay there!!!Do not doubt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SAMUEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
535 reviews
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
281 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
496 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $120 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing