We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Phenomenal Riad! The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating, the food was excellent, the location was great (quiet, but still centrally-located and easy to find), and the rooms were luxurious. My wife and I would unequivocally recommend this Riad to travelers.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ramon187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Riad Chbanate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 526 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay - we could not have asked for more. The rooms (we had Hyate and Berber) were amazing and Greg, Samira and Noel all looked after us superbly and were very friendly and attentive. We were sad to leave and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Everything was amazing!!Stay there!!!Do not doubt!

City is Nice, Staff is fantasctic!!!! An amazing place to spend a long weekend!

Staff hotel gave us a lot of good information and good choice to go for meals. Helpful and nice.

Building and rooms are very lovely!! Quality-Price is perfect!!

If we will be back to Essaouira, We will stay there for sure

Thanks for all!!

Room Tip: Everything was amazing!!Stay there!!!Do not doubt!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SAMUEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and i booked to stay at Riad Chbanate for our honeymoon we stayed for 10 days and found what we would call a real oasis within a walled town it offered a comfort ,quality ,peaceful retreat from a bussling busy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a gorgeous room with the most amazing bath and a terrace with a hot-tub and sun loungers. All in all we would give it a high recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a small van take us from Marrakesh to Essauoira and the company arranged by Riad Chbanate was great--the driver was careful. The young man who welcomed us to the Riad was warm and kind. I agree with other opinions about the rooms and the bathrooms in them--my bath was heavenly. The thing I liked most was the breakfast--excellent quality. We didn't get to see the owner much--he was busy--but I did see him talking to other patrons. The riad is in the town--not right slap in the thick of things, yet only a few minutes walk--this is an advantage on noisy Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is an excellent riad. The place is top notch and the staff is super friendly.

We stayed in the Mauresque Room. This was on the terrace. Huge rooms and very luxurious. Would definitely stay here again. Location is also very convenient and its walking distance from the bus stop in case you are coming by bus from Marrakesh.

A bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rjain19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Lovely riad very welcoming. Rooms beautiful and perfect location . Looking forward to coming back very soon. Would recommend this riad if planning a short stay as very well located and near to the coach station and beach. Lots of lovely restaurants to try and the staff as the riad will help you locate these restaurants and offer advice on where to eat and shop.

Room Tip: All rooms individual and all of high standard that we could see.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $121 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing