We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Chbanate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Zelaka(Essaouira)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Casa Lila(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Tamayourt(Essaouira)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Eowa(Essaouira)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveler rating
537
45
6
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
45
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose petalssunken bathmint tearoof terracelovely riadour honeymoonpancakesfresh fruit saladsupratours bus stopbeautiful roomwonderful staybreakfast was excellentthe hustle and bustletop floorlaid backnoelfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 594 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After a fantastic, action packed 13 days of seeing the sights of morocco from Mountains to Desert, Cities to Ruins through the great offices of our travel company, Morocco Explored, my family of 5 (all over 18) were ready for a few days downtime by the time we reached Essaouira.

Riad Chabanate looked as if it was a bit out of the way being towards the back of the Medina and the street leading to it is not always as clean as it might be. But walk though the door and an oasis of calm and luxury awaits. Moreover, the Riad serves cold wine and beer which after the general paucity of said substance generally in Morocco , we consumed with some relish!
Noel - the owner/manageress was fantastic; as was Greggie - both super hosts and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared. The rooms were very comfortable (we had Suite Oriental with the massive elliptical bath and our sons shared Zen Suite). Free Wifi was welcome. The roof terrace was a real sun trap and the Jacuzzi cooling. And the courtyard was a great place to relax with that cool glass of slightly off-dry wine from Languedoc, before hitting the town for an evening meal!
Could the Riad be improved? Of course if one was super picky. But as a place to spend a few days, it was for us perfect!

Room Tip: Zen Suite is slightly odd as the bath is right by the main Suite door - just make sure the door is locked unless you want to run the risk of a surprise!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We love our stay of 3 nights in Riad Chbanate. The top floor room has full access to lounging area and jacuzzi which made it very comfortable to relax around . The French owners had made the rooms and general areas very cosy and very tastefully done. They had gone down a path where you have free wifi , bottles of water and soft drinks. All the service staffs were outstanding , always willing to help in every way. Morning breakfast with crepes, local fried pratas, Danish pastries and even eggs done in any way you like, truly delicious and generous for Moroccan standard.

Room Tip: Go for the room on the top floor !
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sing2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came to Essaouira after 3 days in Marrakech and it was a breath of calm, relaxing air! When we walked into the Riad, we were amazed straight away. The building is fantastic. We were there 2 minutes and Noelle (apologies if I have spelled this incorrectly) offered to upgrade us to a better room for free. The room was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in in my life. Amazing. Large marble bathtub, infinity tap, massive rainfall shower in the centre - absolutely amazing. Again. Breakfast was also great, much better than any of the other places we stayed so far (we still have 2 more days in Fes) and everyone was so helpful. Noelle and Greggi (again apologies for the incorrect spelling) were both very friendly and helpful and booked out hammam for us and a camel ride along the beach at sunset (a bit lame I know, but when in Rome etc. etc)

We also needed to get some things printed for our return to Ireland and they happily obliged. They also got us a taxi for our early start to Fes and gave us some bits and pieces to eat for the journey, even though we left the Riad at 6:30 am.

By the way, just a note for anyone staying here - if you come by Supratour bus, the Riad is only 5 mins walk from the station. So, when the Riad says it will collect you, do not look for a taxi ( as we were doing for about 15 mins) but look for a boy with a cart with the Riad's name on the side, as he will take your luggage and walk you to the Riad.

This place was amazing and I would recommend it instantly. If this is only the number 3 Riad in Essaouira, I'd like to see 1 and 2 as this place is faultless.

Finally, I saw the 1 terrible review for this place. That person should not be allowed to review here. She complained about the TV not showing English stations (you are in Morocco), the people who live there "hanging round" the streets outside the Riad (you are in Morocco - this is how the people live in cities) and finally that the staff asked why they hadn't finished breakfast (surely concern as to the quality of food is a good thing???). What anuy of this has to do with the quality of this Riad is beyond me.

Go for it. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oisin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all the rooms are very nice, we slept for four nights in the berbere suite and it was delicious.
The breakfast excellent, maybe one of the best we had in morocco so far.
Staff well prepared, english speaking and very helpful.
We loved every detail.
Water is free of charge, which doesn't cost a lot to the hotel but it is a small thing which makes the difference.
We would recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThuyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

French owned Moroccan run elegantly furnished raid. Nasal and greggy are exceptional - could not be more helpful or welcoming. Nawal took my wife to her local hamman, we learnt to cook pastilla with the chef who makes the pastries for breakfast. The medina is a trove of experiences waiting to happen. We were in the city over eid - streets overflowing with celebrants. The raid is a wonderfully peaceful place to return to.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Indradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews