We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing riad with excellent service!”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The riad was beautiful and all the staff were very friendly. Greg went out of his way to make sure we were having an enjoyable stay and gave really useful advice on where to go and how. Would recommend to anyone planning on going to essaouria.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 561 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Absolutely stunning place. We arrived late at night completely frazzled from a crazy windowless taxi ride from Marrakech. After passing beggars around street fires, bone thin dogs I was sooooo relieved when the giant sturdy door of the Riad Chbanate opened to reveal what looked like the gardens of a palace. I felt like I had stepped into the book Arabian nights. Roses everywhere, water trickling gently from the fountain and the gentle crackling of logs in the relaxing reading room. The guardian offered to make us food (1am in the morning) and then lit the fire in our very own fireplace. The owner a very lovely and charismatic young French men has wonderful taste and style. He told us the tale if how he left home at a young age to see the world. He has brought his vision and romanticism to the Hotel. Exquisite, clean, romantic.. I spent the whole time in the bath!

Room Tip: Choose the room with the big round bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marpessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed anywhere finer. The facilities, assistance and cleanliness were absolutely first rate. Like most riads, there are only 7 rooms, so there's a sense of prestige and a personal experience with the staff that was just first class. Noelle and Greggy were always pleasant and interested in helping us. Their guidance was always useful, and the mint tea the best we had in Morocco. Easily the highlight accommodation of our honeymoon, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickDoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We absolutely loved our Riad in Essaouira, in every single sense. The whole place is beautiful and decorated with such great taste. It was a pleasure to come back every day after our visits and have a ‘thé a la menthe’ in the courtyard or on the terrace.

Our room was really nice, every little detail was special, loved the toiletries (the shower gel and the lait corporel were so nice that we bought some to bring home).

The staff was very friendly and always eager to help. Greggy ‘the boss’, as the real boss calls him, met us at the Supratour station and gave us an excellent brief of the town, including good recommendations of places to drink and eat. We were celebrating our 10 years anniversary and Greggy gave us a bottle of wine!

Breakfast was excellent and abundant, fresh orange juice, fruit, yoghurt, crêpes, Msemmen (Morrocan crepe), croissants, pain au chocolat and jam, honey and Amlou (delicious almond sauce), and we could also order eggs.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone visiting Essaoiura.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajesporelmundo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wow. It's really quite difficult to put into words just how wonderful this place is.

We stayed at Riad Chbanate for 5 nights in early April and as soon as you walk through the large wooden door you enter an oasis of calm, luxury and great service. The Riad has been beautifully restored from what was essentially a total ruin just 6 years ago. Everything feels very luxurious, authentic and well thought out.

We arrived at around 2pm after travelling from Marrakesh, and were given a map and talked through the local sights, the best restaurants and general experiences to be had by the fantastic Noelle.

We booked Suite Tyfina on the first floor, which was lovely. A really comfy bed, hammock and a huge bath (more than big enough for 2!).

The roof terrace is really nice with great views across the rooftops of the medina to the sea, and the jacuzzi is a bonus when it's a particularly hot day!

Breakfast was great. Fresh fruit and yogurt, toast, pastries, pancakes and fresh orange juice, tea/coffee. We looked forward to it every day.

If you request it in the morning you can have dinner in the riad. You can ask for whatever you'd like and the staff then go and buy what they need to make it for you. We actually didn't do this, but I do regret it slightly as we heard great things from other guests and the atmosphere in the evenings in the comfy restaurant/seating area is really private and romantic.

We went out for dinner each night, but always looked forward to getting back to the riad and settling in front of the open fire for a beer/glass of wine. The staff make you feel so comfortable and the atmosphere is so intimate and lovely that is really is a great end to the evening.

You just need to ask and Noelle/Greggy will make reservations for you at any of the local restauarants.

Last but most definitely not least - the WONDERFUL Noelle and Greggy. Just the most amazing, hospitable people who make you feel like you are family. Nothing is too much trouble, they seem to really enjoy what they do and genuinely care about the guests. They are so enthusiastic and they made our stay even more special.

I'm not ashamed to admit I was little emotional about leaving this place, especially when we were given huge hugs upon leaving!

This is really an amazing place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLing80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed with our ten month old daughter in April as the first stop on our trip. We were immediately made to feel super welcome especially by Noeul (sorry if spelt wrong) and Greggy (?). They made us feel that nothing was a problem, culminating in Greggy running up and down the stairs every 30 minutes to check our daughter was asleep in the evening. The Riad is stunning, the bath was simply huge and two of you can stretch out in it, amongst the rose petals whilst drinking GnTs. The room was great and the main area downstairs has a lovely fire for sitting by in the evenings. The medina is great and the main markets less than 5 minutes from the Riad, just ask for local tips. The breakfasts were amazing (esp. crepes with Nutella) and The staff always spoke to and kissed our daughter when they saw her. Our evening meal wasn't amazing, however we were offered anything we wanted and we were running a bit late, so perhaps our fault.

Thanks to Jean and team for such a lovely stay and for welcoming us and our daughter.

M,B&A

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank bettyb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a few days in Essaouira and we stayed at the Riad Chbanate. it was, hands down, the best customer service I've ever experienced. The rooms are beautiful and super comfortable, the food is superb, and the entire Riad is just gorgeous. I wish that I could relocate this Riad to every location I travel to...I could have stayed for weeks. Riad Chbanate has my absolute highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 75 in Essaouira
545 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
1,146 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $130 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing