We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sublime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon and couldn't have made a better choice. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and we ended every day in front of a roaring fire in the fireplace of our bedroom. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I had a very bad cough and so my husband asked for directions to a chemist. The owner pointed out that nothing was open in the medina so he went off on his motorbike to a chemist out of town and brought me back medicine. Every effort was made to make our stay magical. Don't hesitate to book a stay here - we'll definitely return. And, be sure to try the freshly squeezed orange juice and croissants for breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    40
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
314
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We absolutely loved this Riad.

It is easy to find, the building is beautiful, the atmosphere is great, the food is delicious, the staff are really friendly and know exactly what they are doing. The recommendations we got for dining and visiting were absolutely spot on. This Riad was certainly our favourite place in Essaouira.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camilogaravito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

All that marks this riad from the outside in the narrow medina street is the front door and its sign but stepping inside you find yourself in a charming entrance hall and courtyard. The staff and management were most welcoming - I particularly appreciated the complementary beer after an 11-hour journey! My room, Suite Berbere, on the second floor was quiet, well-appointed and spacious and, although it did not have a view, it did have exterior windows, unlike some rooms in other riads. There was great attention to detail, for example, on arrival, my bathroom was strewn with rose petals. Breakfast was a treat, with freshly-squeezed orange juice and fresh breads. All staff were most attentive and helpful. All the main sights of the town were in easy walking distance, as were the bus station and taxi/car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heaverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ifrane, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This riad was easy to find from the parking lot just outside the medina walls. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and very accommodating (they didn't mind carting breakfast all the way to the terrace for me and my wife). Speaking of breakfast, possibly the best croissant I have had in Morocco. Very much appreciated. The rooms are large, clean, well decorated and incredibly comfortable. Our room had a hammock, which was nice for reading. Great orientation and very good recommendations for restaurants.

Room Tip: They are just finishing a room on the terrace with a great spa tub... worth checking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent Riad. Easy to find, looks beautiful and our room was amazing, large and with its own huge bath. The staff were particularly helpful and kind (making us a free sandwich for the road, that sort of thing), breakfasts were a feast and I particularly liked their fire and living room. Can’t recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenH5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Staff all very helpful and welcoming. Greggy, as others have mentioned, is a star and absolutely full of information about the good and not so good places in town.
The room (suite orientale) was really lovely, all tadelakt with a big open fireplace - very cosy in December. Plenty of cupboard/drawer space.
A sumptuous bathroom with a huge bath. There is only a curtain and not a door separating the bathroom from the bedroom. If this is a problem for you, maybe don't book this room.
Nice roof terrace (with hot tub!).
Don't listen to the 3 star reviewers, this place is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukejmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Chbanate for 2 nights and had the most amazing welcome from Greggy who immediately offered us a sit down in front of a beautiful log fire with a complementary drink and highlighted all the best places to visit and recommended the best places to eat (Cafe Caravan was so good we went back twice). He couldn't have made us feel more welcome.

The room, Tyfina, was so lovely we didn't want to leave. Stunning marble bath and bed, room scattered with rose petals and oils/salts etc for the bath, very romantic. In fact the whole place was beautiful.

Breakfast was fresh, tasty and plentiful. Definitely enough to fill you until late afternoon and give you the energy to explore Essaouria.

Essaouria was a lot more laid back than Marrakesh (thank goodness! lol) and the coast was a welcome eye break with lovely sunsets.

One warning, watch out when buying spices from the souks, they are NOT cheap.

Was a perfect break. Thanks very much for your hospitality. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Tyfina was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieGirl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Property: Riad Chbanate
Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing