We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Made us feel very welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made us feel very welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place. The staff are super nice and can't help you enough. Room (the Hyatt room) was amazing complete with a fantastic round bath and shower room. Great little touches like rose petals all across the bathroom when we arrived, endless free mint tea and cakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shovelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    40
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
316
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having stayed at Riad Chbanate a few months ago, we decided that we would break the habit of a lifetime and actually take the time to review somewhere we've visited. We have both been to the far corners of the world and stayed in some pretty special places but this place has to be the best. In fact, it's the first time we've been somewhere where it would be criminal for us not to spread the word!
The riad itself is sumptous; an idyllic oasis in the sometimes crazy world of Morocco. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous; traditional Moroccan furniture, drapes and decor. Our room (Suite Berbere, the cheapest on offer) was delightful - particularly the enormous limestone bath - and it's hard to imagine how any of the other rooms could be better - although we're sure they are!
Guests are guaranteed excellent service from Jean and the charming Greggy. Both will bend over backwards to assist in any way they can and to ensure everyone's stay is truly memorable. Guests will also be treated to a spectacular breakfast of croissants, pains-au-chocolat, pancakes, jams, spreads, fruit salad, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and more every morning! The riad also benefits from a gorgeous open-air courtyard where you can relax on low, soft seated furniture and a roof terrace complete with jacuzzi.
We won't rush back to Morocco - only because there are hundreds more countries still to see - but if we do go back, the main reason will be to go back here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tristan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It has taken me too long to write this review as we stayed in february of this year but from the more recent reviews I see the place is just as amazing! We wanted for nothing. Jean and his incredibly attentive staff did everything to make our stay sublime. From the incredible meals(we tried breakfast, lunch and dinner!) to the warm and welcoming common areas to the amazing tub, there is nothing negative to say. My husband and I have travelled extensively and this was our best experience. February in Essaouira is perfect. The sun is warm and inviting. We were surprised to wear everything form our bathing suits to leather jackets and scarves in the evening. Visit Essaouira and this Riad, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor. It was the best room. A little more private and away from everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hulagrl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

On our short trip from Marrakech to the sea I trusted the reviews from TA to book a room. Afterwards it is easy to agree with all tohers. Chbanate is a great place in all measures. Service was impeccable from arranging transportation from our address in Marrakech to pre-ordered shampagne cooled upon arrival. To have the riad as beautiful as it is one must notify that the owner, Mr. Jean, has designed and built it by himself. Impressive, I would say. I also happened to lose my golden necklace in one spa nearby. I could just describe the place and time to the riad - and voila! - it appeared in my mailbox back at home soon after.

Rooms are all very nice, but to have the last kick in bliss, and if you are ready to put the additional $, try to get the Hayate room. It is splendid with the round bathtub and all.

There is a rooftop with a little jacuzzi and a restaurant with very smooth ambience with fireplace. We did not eat there, however, due to they proposed some place in town. Excactly as we asked for, yes. Based on what we saw when back at riad for a late drink we realised it was a mistake to go out. Next time a table from Chbanate for dinner too..

Room Tip: Ask for Hayate. It is in all their brochures, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've travelled widely and stayed in some wonderful places, but this was the best. Riad Watier is beautiful. Everything about it is wonderful.thanks to our tour guide Brahim from www.moroccooverland.com!!

Jean is the perfect host: charming, intelligent, knowledgable, efficient, relaxed, kind, funny... He had excellent recommendations perfectly tailored to my wife, young daughter and I (and I know from talking to other guests he was just as good at showing them suitable things to eat, do and see.) All the other staff were splendid too - often above and beyond the call of duty. (Apologies for talking of matters lavatorial, but, to give one example, my four-year-old daughter had an upset stomach and made rather a mess a couple of times, and the maids were wonderfully understanding - and efficient in cleaning up.)

It was worth visiting just to talk to Jean about his life, his books and his art collection. But, on top of that, the Riad is lovely. It is itself a work of art, but one that is comfortable to live in. The food is great, the beds are huge and luxurious, it's clean and it's welcoming... We spent a wonderful four days there and I felt sad to leave. I want to go back already

I would highly recomend this Riad to anyone looking for a lovely boutique style, relaxed place to stay in Essaouira.and moroccooverland as tour company around the Country,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

As part of our honeymoon, we staid several nights in the “Suite Orientale” and had a great stay!

The riad is situated within the old city-walls, perfect to discover the old town and it’s souks. Everything is within walking distance. Even if the streets are busy and sometimes smelly, as soon as you enter the riad you know you are at a calm and peaceful place.
The riad itself is carefully decorated, tidy and you will find a lot of space to enjoy yourself either in the patio, the dining/living room or on the roof terrace, from where you can even have a glimpse at the sea.
Our room was tastefully furbished and decorated with the same attention as the rest of the house. When we arrived, we found our suite decorated with fresh flowers. All soft drinks from the small fridge were free of charge, and the cleaning crew kept the room very clean and tidy.
But the best thing about Riad Chbanate is the owner and his employees. From the moment we arrived at the riad we felt welcome and in good hands. Everyone, from the cleaning ladies to the management, did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We had a very romantic, delicious dinner in front of the fireplace at the riad, they provided us with all information needed about the city (restaurants, hamam, shops, cab fees,…), and whenever we returned from the city they offered us tea and coffee. All the extras we had (washing our laundry, sandwiches for the day of departure, eggs for breakfast,…) were free of charge – a generosity we never enjoyed before!

All in all, we highly recommend this riad, we had a perfect time there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My Wife and i stayed here for four nights at the start of our honeymoon from the 26th of June. We both work in the hospitality industry and could not fault the Riad it's owner Jean, or his staff. Noel, Greggy, and the rest of team that work at the Riad made us feel welcome and relaxed form the moment we arrived. Nothing we asked for seemed to be a problem and was answered with a genuine smile. The room we stayed in was decorated to a high standard with a huge double bath and massive bed.

The breakfast was fresh and lots of it, great for starting a lazy or hectic day whatever you should choose.

I would highly recomend this Riad to anyone looking for a lovely boutique style, relaxed place to stay in Essaouira.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the top of the riad, which was fantastic. felt like the terrace was our own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Property: Riad Chbanate
Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing