We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host, very good value”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were a bit concerned before we arrived that the excellent reviews for this riad on tripadvisor might not be entirely real and accurate. Obviously that is not the case. This is a small, well-designed, newly-built riad in a quiet location on the far edge of the medina. The medina is quite compact, so being on the edge is no problem. The riad's owner/builder is a very likeable and bright young French guy. While we were there he was present and extraordinarily attentive to the needs of his guests, and his staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Riad Chbanate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 526 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

We can only recommend the Riad Chbanate! Top rooms, the owners were very nice and helpful, the food was perfect, the location was great (within the old city), you are able to walk by foot to see all interesting places.
We will come back next time when we are in or near Essaouira.
The riad itself is very professional styled.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf12169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Riad for four days, and we couldn't have been more satisfied with the room and the staff. Jean, the owner, treated us like family. He even found me a Moroccan Premier Cru. Unfortunately, there's not a lot to do in Essaouira after three days. You can let yourself be blown around the beach or you can visit a restaurant near the main entrance to the souk where the magician is beyond good. Very entertaining. Thank you, Jean and your staff, for all your attention to detail We had a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The reviews on trip advisor matched the reality. The owners work very hard to provide excellent service and they deliver. The breakfasts were excellent (but i did have a serious sugar rush), my husbands dietary needs were met. This Riad is a leader in meeting the needs of their customers. PS the bedrooms and bathrooms are amazing. I wish them continued success and maintaining being the best place in Essaouira to stay, they deserve it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

A gorgeous riad with fantastic, lovely and attentive staff. Cosy and clean, fresh flowers everywhere, and always a friendly hello when we got back from our days out. Highly recommend for a romantic break!

Room Tip: We were in the room above the restaurant (tyfina) so could sometimes hear the music in our room, but...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

... Firstly, the bathrooms are to die for enormous tubs roomy enough for two! Essaouira was our last stop in morocco and a perfect choice to end a very busy vacation with some more laid back explorations. We ended up spending a lot more time in this riad than any other, just relaxing and winding down... The town has a very chilled out vibe and panders to aimless walks and conversations over beer in the courtyard. the owner, Jean, was super-hospitable and had a lot of interesting stories to share. the staff, too was very friendly and helpful. Although they only serve breakfast ( as lavish as any moroccan breakfast), we found them very accommodating in rustling up a couple of oddly- timed meals when asked. They went out of their way to help us make reservations at restaraunts, the hammam and even with some last minute shopping. Jean even organised a honeymoon dinner by the fireplace the last night we were their along with champagne and wine and some stellar fish :-) we left with lots of memories... Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagabond-eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights between Agadir and Marrakech. Our room was beautiful with fresh rose petals and a gorgeous bathroom with rain shower. The staff are incredibly helpful and attentive without being intrusive and Jean the ownder was very welcoming giving advice on bars and restaurants etc. If you want to stay in the Medina then this has to be the place for you! Breakfast was excellent - we especially loved the fresh orange juice. Dinner can be done for you as long as you book in advance - there is no menu - just tell the staff what you would like and it will be served. There is usually soup and salad and a traditional tajine of some kind. Drinks are quite expensive but you are in a Muslim country and the prices are no worse than city prices in the UK.
Essaouria is lovely and far more relaxed than Marrakech. The beach is wonderful although it is windy a lot of the time which makes a traditional beach break less of a possibility. But you don't come here for the beach - you come for the shopping and the Moroccan culture. You can easily see everything in the Medina in a day - from the galleries to the tiny little musuem and the climb up onto the ramparts - which you can only do at one point of the walls.
It is worth having a car to get out to see the beaches and countryside nearby. You can also visit numerous argan oil co-operatives to buy the delicious spread or the cosmetics. If the driving isn't for you - and it is a bit harem scarem! - then taxis are plentiful and cheap.
We don't tend to go back to places twice so I can't see us passing through Essaouria any time soon, but we would definately stay here again and would certainly recommend it for an authentic riad experience in peace and luxury

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $121 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing