We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic riad conversion at the Medina's heart in laid-back Essaouira”
Review of Riad Remmy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Remmy
Ranked #24 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stuart Malone, from Manchester, and his partner Tracy fell in love with Essaouira over four years ago and, having discovered Remmy (named after their baby) down a warren of passages in the medina, spent 15 months renovating it in traditional style..
They’ve created a relaxed chilling out space on the ground floor (only marred by United fan Stuart’s collections of Reds biographies)! with the five guest bedrooms, all en-suite, on the floors above around the typical riad (guesthouse) courtyard.
The couple’s friend, Sandra Cripps, who runs it for them, lives in rooms on the roof. She was a marvellous, informal help in finding our way around town (and finding the riad, which is well hidden), while introducing us to a few Brit expats and Essaouira’s rather sedate nightlife.
Breakfast aside, Riad Remmy doesn’t do food but it is within easy reach of a fabulous, eclectic, art-filled eaterie called Elizir on the Rue d’Agadir serving Italian-influenced but individual food. The cuttlefish risotto is to die for.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank NeilSowerby26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed at Riad Remmy in April 2010 and would reccomend it to one & all.
After the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, Essa was a breathe of fresh air - chilled, sunny, breezy (of course!) and friendly. Sandra who looked after us, when we stayed at Remmy, was a legend - always there to help when we needed her but not to be found when you want a bit of "you" time......THANK YOU SAN lol xx
Riad Remmy is homely, relaxed, clean, comfortable and your every need is catered for, including seating areas on the roof for sun, on the ground floor for when the sun goes down and near the kitchen for snacks and pre going out drinks.
Food highlights include eating fresh fish at the fish shacks, by the beach (which we found hard not to do everyday!) and La Petite Perle. Also reccomend a boozy evening, watching the sun go down at Taros Cafe.

Riad Remmy is hidden gem that you will not be disappointed by...dont just read this review........GO and find out for yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We arrived late at night into Essaouira with two small children so were so relieved when Stuart the owner met us at the Medina gates and escorted us through the winding streets to Riad Remmy. When we opened the door into the riad we were greeted with a warm glow of hospitiality from Sandra who had stayed up late for our arrival. The rooms were tastefully decorated giving guests all the comforts they could need whilst retaining an authentic Morrocan feel. Sandra and Stuart were excellent hosts through our stay - giving guided tours of the local environs, and recommending the best eateries. We had a great family holiday due in no small part to the efforts of our hosts. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodenplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Have stayed at Riad Remmy twice now and will keep going back. Great spot, fantastic hosts and relaxed accommodation. Highly recommended to those who want a relaxing stay in Essa with great people and all the insight into the best spots in town. One tip you will want to add a few days onto your stay so be prepared to change your travel arrangements.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We spent 4 nights in Riad Remmy and it was a wonderful experience. Sandra made us feel so welcome and was unfalteringly helpful and friendly. She gave us a tour of the town, so useful when arriving somewhere new especially in Morocco, and plenty of restaurant recommendations, which meant we never had a bad meal, again something especially great in Morocco where dining experiences can be a little touch and go.

The Riad is beautiful, simple but tasteful focused more on quality and atmosphere than some of the more decadent riads that we stayed in, which occasionally ended up being more style than substance. Our room was light and airy, and very comfortable. Everything was kept spotlessly clean.

The riad is situated down a residential street and is a little tucked away, but completely safe and it feels more peaceful for it, stepping inside was like walking into our own oasis, and we loved ducking under the arch to get through.

We would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Essouria, Sandra's advice really helped us to make the most out of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

For us, Sandra made up the Riad Remmy. She's a one woman show who can do almost anything! The Riad was a little on the inside but its decor, warmth and the host more than make for up for the 5-10 minute walk from the main square. Sandra is super! Her recommendations are spot on, her local knowledge is impressive and she is a friendly soul. We had many a good chat with her and it felt like home. The Riad has beautiful decor and the right ambience for a good getaway. Dying to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gypsicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#20 of 178 in Essaouira
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#2 of 178 in Essaouira
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jack's Apartments & suites
Jack's Apartments & suites
#26 of 178 in Essaouira
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad O Gre du Vent
Riad O Gre du Vent
#8 of 178 in Essaouira
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
RIad Dar El Paco
RIad Dar El Paco
#11 of 178 in Essaouira
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Remmy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Remmy

Address: 29 Daoud Ben Aicha, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $49 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Remmy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing