We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dar dayana will make your stay in Essaouira!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Dayana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Dayana
Ranked #42 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dar dayana will make your stay in Essaouira!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very friendly guesthouse through which we discovered a lot of great things and met really nice people. It's clean, beautifully decorated with local arts and crafts and you receive an excellent breakfast. We recommend Dar Dayana! Lisa & Lucas

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had a great stay here in the turquoise room, which was lovely (but also peeked in the other rooms, and they were all beautifully decorated). The staff was very hospitable and welcoming, the breakfast was superb, and the cooking class with Hakima was fun and delicious. Overall, good value for the price and we would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend and had a fantastic time. The owners were exceptionally welcoming when we arrived and gave us complimentary tea and biscuits along with very good advice as to where to go and what to do. The building is beautiful with a lovely garden area and roof terrace. We saw all of the rooms which are all done up differently, they are all clean and very nicely decorated. Breakfast is provided and was very good, all homemade and plenty of it!! In addition they provide alcohol at a good price, which was a good thing as it can be difficult finding places that sell it.The location was spot on right in the centre of the medina and within 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would have loved to have stayed for longer, would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavaria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Practically located in the medina, just tucked off a quiet side street not far from the Supratour bus stop, shopping/souk streets, entrance to the beach and nice cafes (eg Caravane Cafe) this riad was a great find. It is run by a retired french couple who cheerily welcomed me in and gave great tips on where to eat and how to make the most out of my short stay in Essaouira.(all tips were spot on great).

The riad is beautifully decorated, has a rooftop terrace as well as the lush inner courtyard (I had my own sunny balcony too!) and free wifi.

There may be lower priced riads (according to tripadvisor and booking.com) but I found the rate we negotiated just fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickichickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Dar Dayana is greatly situated in the center of Essaouira's medina. The court is beautiful, the roof terrace has a nice view over the medina. Our room was nicely furnished but too small. We didn't really have space for our luggage. Service was great and very helpful. Hakima served us a very good breakfast with homemade yoghurt and fresh orange-juice.

Room Tip: We had the purple room which is extremly small. I think they have bigger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid_Heide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

When you enter Dar Dayana from the busy (and dirty) streets of Essaouira you feel like you have entered a different world. The design of the hotel and the rooms is great and the atmosphere helps you to calm down and relax. The staff is super friendly and helpful. As we were the only guests, we had the roof terrace on our own, and during the day. Halima brought complimentary mince tea, cookies, olives and almonds.

Day Dayana is next to a mosque. So you will wake up at 5am in the morning for the first payer call. It wasn't a problem for us; we got used to to the Islamic rhythm of the day and fell to sleep immediately after the prayer call ended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hnauheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Beautiful small Riad located in the center of Essaouira. The welcoming is awesome and very friendly. Odile and Patrick know how to take care of their guests. We spoke a lot, they are very sympathic and interesting.
Rooms are very cute, clean, confortable, and well decorated. (just being redecorated)
Hakima is a very good cooking teacher !!
We really advise you to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#15 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#10 of 177 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#8 of 177 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dar Sahil
Dar Sahil
#2 of 177 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Nafoura
Riad Dar Nafoura
#45 of 177 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Dayana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Dayana

Property: Dar Dayana
Address: 26 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Dayana 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rare! Riad of charm in the heart of the medina with garden. Located in a quiet street in the heart of the medina, close to the souk, all shops, beach and fishing port, this charming house will enchant you with its garden of banana trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tastefully renovated in the pure tradition (tadelakt zellige, bejmat and thyua ceiling) this house has a lounge and kitchen open onto the garden, 4 bedrooms (amethyst,coral,Turquoise and Onyx), a sun terrace overlooking the rooftops of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Dayana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing