We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Better options are available” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #78 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Cranham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better options are available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Unless you are on a shoestring budget and have struck a rock bottom good deal with this hotel, do look elsewhere. We were booked in there for 4 nights but moved after one night. The bathroom smelled, the towels were a dingy grey colour and the usual warm Moroccan welcome was sadly missing. The hotel has a really grubby feel about it. At breakfast, which was a buffet, we had to ask for supplies which had not been replenished, so no juice, butter and only 1 yogurt on display. The requested yogurt never did appear. We stayed in 5 hotels during our recent wonderful trip to Morocco and this one let them all down. The others were excellent. Essaouira is a great place, full of hotels, this one is to be avoided.,

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DameJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
19
41
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was expecting a little more from this hotel, but perhaps that's because my friends and I had talked it up a bit between ourselves beforehand.
The staff on reception were a little too laid back for my liking as our room had no towels, the heater didn't work (no central heating or air con built in), and we had to battle a bit to get a blanket for each of the beds. We got there in the end!
Otherwise, the staff were friendly, the buffet breakfast was pretty good (pancakes and chocolate cake especially), and the room terrace was particularly enjoyable.
The only downside is there was no fridge or hairdryer in the room and there were no English TV channels.
Overall it was an OK stay for the one night we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candacemorris78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Good location, decent rooms but should bring own towels as they are hard and dirty. Tried to go for early morning walk but fire exits locked at night. Staff surly and unhelpful, told us incorrect times for breakfast. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arbukxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Verry clean and nice rooms. Near to the beach and the medina.
Friendly staff, free wifi, good brackfast! Best of all verry good price
We stayed for 2 nights in june 2012. Our room had an ocean view with a fine balcony. The room was spotless and a fine shower. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was tasty and good quality. Very comfortable beds. Perfect location for the beach and Medina. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Rooms with see sight are verry nice to fal a sleep with the sounds of the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youssef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baza, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We enjoyed the Hotel Miramar so much we stayed an extra night. Lovely rooms and with the beach so close we fell asleep each night to the sound of the waves, all the staff were really friendly and when my partner asked to use an Internet connection the manager obliged by letting him use his own computer behind reception which caused some giggles as people were checking out. They couldn't have done more to please. Avoid the morning pancakes though, they're like leather!

The location was perfect, beach is over the road (worth going to the Surfers shack for a beer and a relaxing afternoon) and the walk into town to the medina and harbour is just a few minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatildaK1TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

After 5 hights in a Riad in the Marrakech medina we opted for a small, simple, hotel on the beach: this was just right - nice sized, quiet room. All staff from manager to chamber maids smiling and attentive. Breakfast was simple but decent standard. Having booked an hotel with a pool we didn't use it, although it looked inviting. Being right on the beech we walked miles along the sand. Five minutes walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkMMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed for I week in January. Our room had an ocean view with a small but adequate balcony. The room was spotless but had a poor shower. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was ample and good quality. Very comfortable beds.

Perfect location for the beach and Medina. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and inviting.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beach views are fantastic from the front of house with no noise from beach at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_IrelandDeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#20 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#42 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Louzani
Residence Louzani
#1 of 50 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ocean Vagabond Essaouira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 20, Bd Med 5, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, ETB, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing