We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #56 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was expecting a little more from this hotel, but perhaps that's because my friends and I had talked it up a bit between ourselves beforehand.
The staff on reception were a little too laid back for my liking as our room had no towels, the heater didn't work (no central heating or air con built in), and we had to battle a bit to get a blanket for each of the beds. We got there in the end!
Otherwise, the staff were friendly, the buffet breakfast was pretty good (pancakes and chocolate cake especially), and the room terrace was particularly enjoyable.
The only downside is there was no fridge or hairdryer in the room and there were no English TV channels.
Overall it was an OK stay for the one night we stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candacemorris78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Good location, decent rooms but should bring own towels as they are hard and dirty. Tried to go for early morning walk but fire exits locked at night. Staff surly and unhelpful, told us incorrect times for breakfast. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnabelGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Verry clean and nice rooms. Near to the beach and the medina.
Friendly staff, free wifi, good brackfast! Best of all verry good price
We stayed for 2 nights in june 2012. Our room had an ocean view with a fine balcony. The room was spotless and a fine shower. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was tasty and good quality. Very comfortable beds. Perfect location for the beach and Medina. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Rooms with see sight are verry nice to fal a sleep with the sounds of the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youssef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We enjoyed the Hotel Miramar so much we stayed an extra night. Lovely rooms and with the beach so close we fell asleep each night to the sound of the waves, all the staff were really friendly and when my partner asked to use an Internet connection the manager obliged by letting him use his own computer behind reception which caused some giggles as people were checking out. They couldn't have done more to please. Avoid the morning pancakes though, they're like leather!

The location was perfect, beach is over the road (worth going to the Surfers shack for a beer and a relaxing afternoon) and the walk into town to the medina and harbour is just a few minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatildaK1TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

After 5 hights in a Riad in the Marrakech medina we opted for a small, simple, hotel on the beach: this was just right - nice sized, quiet room. All staff from manager to chamber maids smiling and attentive. Breakfast was simple but decent standard. Having booked an hotel with a pool we didn't use it, although it looked inviting. Being right on the beech we walked miles along the sand. Five minutes walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed for I week in January. Our room had an ocean view with a small but adequate balcony. The room was spotless but had a poor shower. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was ample and good quality. Very comfortable beds.

Perfect location for the beach and Medina. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and inviting.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beach views are fantastic from the front of house with no noise from beach at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublin_IrelandDeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were very happy with this hotel which is above Moroccan standards. Is a new and neat boutique hotel that is very nicely decorated. The hotel faces the Essaouira Coast and although the room did not have air conditioner, we did not need it in October. We just opened the balcony door to fall sleep to the sound of the ocean waves, which was fantastic! The room was clean although we did encounter some mold in the shower that we asked them to clean and they did. For some reason they clean the rooms and the hotel well but somehow not so well the showers, as they showed us another room and the shower of this one was worse than the first one, so we opted it to have the first ones cleaned by the staff. The breakfast buffet was satisfactory. Would stay here again.

Tip for Moroccan tourists: I don´t recommend making reservations in advance. I recommend asking the staff to show you a room first prior to checking-in at any hotel that may interest you once you arrive at your destination. We were so happy that we proceeded this way around the country as the Moroccan standards are quiet poor (Note: We drove oursevelves around the country). In Morocco A 5 star hotel is really a 3 and a 3 is a 0.

Room Tip: Check your room prior to check-in. That is, inspect the shower for mold and ask to have it clean if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GegeChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Iles
Hotel des Iles
#53 of 75 in Essaouira
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
506 reviews
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 20 Bd Med 5, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $71 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing