We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb couscous!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Sirocco

Le Sirocco
Ranked #11 of 256 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb couscous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Arriving late the restaurant was not busy and I think on a busier night would have had more of an atmosphere... However the service was good, interior very pleasant and food delicious... Particularly the 7 veg couscous. I tried some of my friend's chicken pastilla which was very nice but a little too sweet for me! Lived up to reviews!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    213
    42
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful welcome to essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

we arrived late at night to essaouira, and were recommended this restaurant by our hotel. We were not expecting much but this restaurant ensured we had a good first start in essaouira.
In a nutshell, wonderful service, beautiful music, cosy interior and excellent food and good value. We had our first taste of Morocco's lamb tagine and mint tea - delicious !Very generous servings of food. Definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mekbrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb music and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

You probably couldn't beat this place for atmosphere. There was some first-class music being performed live when I was there, and I believe this goes on every night. Be generous with your tips to the musicians - they are worth it. The food was also excellent, although the length of time between courses was a little long sometimes. But the waitresses were getting involved with the music and dancing, so they could be forgiven! You could hardly not find yourself clapping or toe-tapping. I had a delicious kofta tagine with poached egg and rice - all perfectly cooked. And the chocolate flan the restaurant is famous for is well worth it - and it's not rich or overly sweet either, so you can definitely eat a whole slice yourself! I did :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fraseyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The atmosphere in this Moroccan-French restaurant is a cut above most other restaurants of this genre. However, where it really shines is atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. The decor is beautiful and cosy. The night that we went a Moroccan band (four members, including drums, guitar, violin and vocals) played an eclectic mix of music including Bob Marley, Manu Chao and the Cuban classic Guantanamara. By the end of the evening the whole restaurant was swaying to the music or dancing.

A superb restaurant. Note: cash only.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dtforestell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Reastaurant Great Food and Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Well executed traditional style Moroccan food with French influences reasonable prices and wonderful staff making this a great place to enjoy a relaxed meal and drinks. Make sure you visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SimanWC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sirocco also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Sirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing