We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“wonderful welcome to essaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sirocco

Le Sirocco
Ranked #16 of 250 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful welcome to essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we arrived late at night to essaouira, and were recommended this restaurant by our hotel. We were not expecting much but this restaurant ensured we had a good first start in essaouira.
In a nutshell, wonderful service, beautiful music, cosy interior and excellent food and good value. We had our first taste of Morocco's lamb tagine and mint tea - delicious !Very generous servings of food. Definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mekbrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    194
    39
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb music and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You probably couldn't beat this place for atmosphere. There was some first-class music being performed live when I was there, and I believe this goes on every night. Be generous with your tips to the musicians - they are worth it. The food was also excellent, although the length of time between courses was a little long sometimes. But the waitresses were getting involved with the music and dancing, so they could be forgiven! You could hardly not find yourself clapping or toe-tapping. I had a delicious kofta tagine with poached egg and rice - all perfectly cooked. And the chocolate flan the restaurant is famous for is well worth it - and it's not rich or overly sweet either, so you can definitely eat a whole slice yourself! I did :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fraseyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The atmosphere in this Moroccan-French restaurant is a cut above most other restaurants of this genre. However, where it really shines is atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. The decor is beautiful and cosy. The night that we went a Moroccan band (four members, including drums, guitar, violin and vocals) played an eclectic mix of music including Bob Marley, Manu Chao and the Cuban classic Guantanamara. By the end of the evening the whole restaurant was swaying to the music or dancing.

A superb restaurant. Note: cash only.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dtforestell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Reastaurant Great Food and Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Well executed traditional style Moroccan food with French influences reasonable prices and wonderful staff making this a great place to enjoy a relaxed meal and drinks. Make sure you visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SimanWC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect all-rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food is amazing and and very good portion sizes and value for money. The cocktails are yummy! and on the weekend they have live music which really makes the atmosphere and you can find the waitresses and owners dancing around the restaurant!
I would definitely go back many many times!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sirocco also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Sirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing