We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riad, pleasant staff and good location”
Review of Dar Latigeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Latigeo
Ranked #62 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights in this riad, in the middle of the medina. The place was clean and the rooms were very nice. We couldn't find the riad at first, but George and Larby were happy to help us (and pick us up somewhere in the medina) to guide us to the riad. We enjoyed the breakfast and felt comfortable. The location is perfect, so this is a good place to stay when you are in Essaouira!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolineVervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Dar Latigeo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 113 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is just a great place in Essaouira. The location is excellent, it is clean and a great price. The staff are brilliant begining with the owner George and his wife. George is a knowledgeable and affable character fun to be around. Cant say enough good things about Larby, he knows the area and will help you with whatever you need. All in all you cant go wrong with staying here.

Room Tip: all are good from what we could see
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanangBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Dar Latigeo after staying in Marrakech, what a relief it was to find a friendly and relaxed Riad such as this in an easy to find location. The host was welcoming as he told us of many good places in Essaouira and never failed to amuse us with his stories of globetrotting over the years. Our only bugbear would be that for the 3 days we were there our towels didn't seem to be changed (plus there was a rather pervy man staying opposite us, not that that's the hotel's faultof course. The atmosphere of the hotel is fantastic, at night you're treated to soft romantic lighting and music playing downstairs in the reception. The staff were great including a young man who brought us mint tea one evening when we were in the reception using the Wi-fi (which unfortunately didn't stretch to our room).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeariestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and wished we've stayed longer. Host was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was decorated very nicely and everything was super clean. Sleep quality wasn't great as we could hear every noise from room above but that's the only bad thing I can say about this riad. Breakfast was tasty and atmosphere was great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruslixz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good clean room and bathroom. Lovely little roof terrace. Tasty breakfast. George and his family were great hosts and gave tips and advice on where to go and sights to see in Essauaira. Try and find the Earth Cafe if you want something different from traditional food.
If you have gps (smartphone etc.) then its a really useful way of finding the house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. The owner gave us lots of tips for places to eat and other advice for the town, which turned out to be great. It is down the street by the Bob Marley shop which is easy to spot.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Charlestonjigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good services, very clean and with nice atmosphere, sweet breakfast, good location. Connection to WiFi was very good. I sincerely recommend it.

If the other guest are very loud, you can hear it and you can not sleep so good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broscuta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#29 of 74 in Essaouira
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Amana
Riad Amana
#73 of 177 in Essaouira
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
#18 of 177 in Essaouira
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#19 of 177 in Essaouira
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Latigeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Latigeo

Address: 12 Rue Youssef Ben Tachfine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $26 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Latigeo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B/B riad in the Médina Essaouira 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, diningroom, kitchen, livingroom (tv,internet,tel:fax) terrace/patio (bbq), overvue on the ocean. Harbor and beach very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Dar Latigeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing