We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Latigeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Latigeo
Ranked #68 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Danang
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is just a great place in Essaouira. The location is excellent, it is clean and a great price. The staff are brilliant begining with the owner George and his wife. George is a knowledgeable and affable character fun to be around. Cant say enough good things about Larby, he knows the area and will help you with whatever you need. All in all you cant go wrong with staying here.

Room Tip: all are good from what we could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanangBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    11
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
64
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Dar Latigeo after staying in Marrakech, what a relief it was to find a friendly and relaxed Riad such as this in an easy to find location. The host was welcoming as he told us of many good places in Essaouira and never failed to amuse us with his stories of globetrotting over the years. Our only bugbear would be that for the 3 days we were there our towels didn't seem to be changed (plus there was a rather pervy man staying opposite us, not that that's the hotel's faultof course. The atmosphere of the hotel is fantastic, at night you're treated to soft romantic lighting and music playing downstairs in the reception. The staff were great including a young man who brought us mint tea one evening when we were in the reception using the Wi-fi (which unfortunately didn't stretch to our room).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeariestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and wished we've stayed longer. Host was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was decorated very nicely and everything was super clean. Sleep quality wasn't great as we could hear every noise from room above but that's the only bad thing I can say about this riad. Breakfast was tasty and atmosphere was great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruslixz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betws-y-Coed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good clean room and bathroom. Lovely little roof terrace. Tasty breakfast. George and his family were great hosts and gave tips and advice on where to go and sights to see in Essauaira. Try and find the Earth Cafe if you want something different from traditional food.
If you have gps (smartphone etc.) then its a really useful way of finding the house.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. The owner gave us lots of tips for places to eat and other advice for the town, which turned out to be great. It is down the street by the Bob Marley shop which is easy to spot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlestonjigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good services, very clean and with nice atmosphere, sweet breakfast, good location. Connection to WiFi was very good. I sincerely recommend it.

If the other guest are very loud, you can hear it and you can not sleep so good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broscuta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this Riad on 6th, 7th sept 2012 for the end of our stay in Essaouira. The owner tx me on the morning we were due, to ask us if we needed picking up, but we declined as we were all ready in the town and knew our way around. [nice gesture]. Very friendly greeting on arrival, with mint tea, made by the housekeeper, whilst waiting for the owner. A lovely lady, who speaks fluent English. She showed us round the Riad [her home as well] and explained to us about meals we could order ect.
We booked a triple room with en- suite bathroom on the first floor, the only other en-suite is a double on the same floor. It was an adequate size and very clean, fine for two nights. We could use the kitchen facilities and big fridge to keep our drinks cool [a must].
On the first day we decided to have dinner at the Riad, made to order by the housekeeper. She cooks it at her own home and brings it to the Riad for the time stated [excellent]. We had a lemon chicken tagine for 3 and a chicken pastilla for 2 [they are huge] more than enough for 3. It was followed by mint tea, coffee and moroccan pastries and fruit [Beautiful]. It was served by the housekeeper herself, you cannot beat service like that! It made us feel quite pampered and special and very homely.
On the terrace [quite a hike up stairs, but all riads are] there is plenty of room for sunbathing and sitting haviing a drink, sunbeds, chairs and tables, parasols ect. There are great views as well.
On the day we were leaving, it was my son's 21st birthday, and they made us a special breakfast. It was a lovely touch for the end of our stay. I did'nt want to leave but we had 4 days left in Marrakesh to celebrate his Birthday.
I would like to thank them for there friendliness and a wonderful stay.
Carole.

Room Tip: 2 rooms on the first floor, both with en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gr20goody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#41 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#27 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#46 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emeraude
Hotel Emeraude
#40 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jade Mogador
Riad Jade Mogador
#57 of 178 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Arboussas
Riad Arboussas
#121 of 178 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Latigeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Latigeo

Property: Dar Latigeo
Address: 12 Rue Youssef Ben Tachfine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Latigeo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B/B riad in the Médina Essaouira 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, diningroom, kitchen, livingroom (tv,internet,tel:fax) terrace/patio (bbq), overvue on the ocean. Harbor and beach very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Latigeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing