We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookery class”
Review of l'Atelier Madada

l'Atelier Madada
Ranked #1 of 7 Food & Drink in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: At the entrance of the old medina, in a former almond warehouse, l'Atelier Madada welcomes you under its stone arches. By small groups (8 persons maximum) and supervised by a professional team (a cook and a trilingual presenter) our hosts discover the secrets of Moroccan gastronomy and are initiated into the delights of one of the best cuisine in the world. In a friendly and casual atmosphere, those half-day workshops teach each participant how to prepare a full traditional meal that one can then easily reproduce at home.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Cookery class”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Brilliant! Absolutely fantastic experience, would recommend all to do this. Was very interesting and fab. We both did the course and felt the same way. Even bought a Tajine from the Medina to try ourselves. Definately recommend doing this!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    29
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Moroccan cuisine in Essaouira”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I really desired to attend some cooking class in Morocco to have a touch of tradition, tajine and species. I took this chance in Essauoira in the wonderful, modern and clean l'Atelier Madada. I was in a class of three and we cooked harira soup and sardine kefta tajine. I tried to learn as much as I could and the experience was terribly positive. We also went to the market to buy species and a new tajine to take back to Italy. I thank Mona and everybody from l'Atelier Madada for the competence and the recipes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isabella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv,, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely place and interesting course”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you want to learn some secrets of Moroccan cuisine in nice atmosphere, then l'atelier Madada is a place to visit. We took half day cooking course where prepared beef tajine with caramelized carrots and tomato + bissara (which is a soup from chickpeas). We really spent good time there, as people were friendly, settings were fine and the course itself was informative. In the beginning we also got to know how to make "right" Moroccan mint tea. When all the ingridients were ready, all spices added we put our pots on the cooker and left for an excursion to the suk. There we met Berber spice seller. He treated us with special tea and showed all the spice mixes he makes by himself. We used the opportunity and bought wide variety of spices. Finally we came back and enjoyed our meal. Thanks to chief cook!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classified
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Love food? you will love this! Sip delicious tea, discuss spices, local history, tour the souks, Enjoy morrocan cuisine in beautiful resturant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnClark2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great course, very well run, really enjoed it”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We did the half day Moroccan cookery course. The venue is lovely, very clean and modern but still in a Moroccan style. I'd booked this up on the basis of all of the good reviews, and wasn't disappointed. We made a starter (harira soup) and then a chicken tagine. The ladies who taught us were lovely and very helpful, and they made it great fun. They also took us into the souks to visit a spice seller and have Moroccan tea whilst the tagines were cooking. We finished off by eating the food that we'd cooked for lunch. They also helpfully emailed us the recipes from the course afterwards, to use at home. I really enjoyed it and would thoroughly recommend the course to anyone who's feeling inspired to learn some Moroccan cookery!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Atelier Madada also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to l'Atelier Madada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing