We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dirty, noisy, unprofessional, go elsewhere!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dirty, noisy, unprofessional, go elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a disappointment. I have stayed in many Riads in Morocco from luxury to budget. After reading all the great reviews on trip advisor, I was looking so forward. It was downright disgusting. The sheets and cover were stained and smelly, there wasnt even a top sheet! Dusty, not cleaned basin, dusty hair dryer. The lights didnt work for some time either. The owner was also rude when we didnt like the room. Also smokes in the riad which is highly unprofessional.
Noisy street as well. I would highly advise you to look elsewhere. Even at a reasonable price, it was too much money for these unsanitary conditions. Don't be fooled by the photos which look a lot better than the real thing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operasingerworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    57
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
59
129
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
periain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The guys at this riad give a very warm welcome, and helped us with anything we needed. Breakfast on the terrace was superb. This is a sure bet if you are looking for value for money, comfort, location, and very personal service.

Room Tip: The family suite is all the way upstairs, but easily fits four adults with space for a baby bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank periain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

From the moment of arrival to departure this place is nothing short of outstanding! Didier and his wife own this place and live on the premises, they even serve the complimentary breakfast each morning themselves on the rooftop terrace. I was given a history and background of the city as well as attractions and getting around upon arrival. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be and you are most comfortable. Hard to believe the breakfast served each morning is included, it was impeccable and the best I've had since staying in Morocco as well as best Ryad. Every city needs a Ryad Lyon Mogador, although I would probably never leave this country :). I can't wait to see this Gem climb the rankings of places to stay in Essaouira. Thank you Didier and Family, I will give nothing but the top recommendation for this place. Merci et Au Revoir!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercietaurevoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The riad is in the middle of the medina, so forget taxi and horse carriage. The only means to transport your luggages into the medina is by asking one of the push cart boys to help. It will cost you from 30-50dh. Arriving in front of the riads' door, we were greeted by Didier and his wife Lorraine, the couple,who owns the riad. Our stay was very nice and quiet. The room was a bit small, but sufficient. The ample bed was cozy and surprisingly comfortable. The undeniable surprise was definitely the breakfast! A mix between Morrocan flat galette and French continental breakfast. It has variety, and it hold our stomach until pass midday. The view of the roof terrace was breathtaking and worth to take picture of the view of the town, and the ocean. We definitely will come back next time we plan to come to Essaouira again.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for a bigger room. The room can be a challenge if you are big guys and need mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loneshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

First of all, you have to visit Essaouira on a trip to Morocco. Second, you HAVE to stay at Riad Lyon-Mogador when you go. Everything about this riad is perfect; from the excellent breakfast (best we had in Morocco) which is served on the roof with a 360 view of Essaouira medina and the Atlantic ocean to the stylishly renovated rooms where each has its own name and colour.

When you arrive Didier takes the time to give you a personal introduction to Essaouira, what to see, a history of the city, where to eat, and what not to miss. All invaluable information when you are in Essaouira for the first time. Didier and his wife really make you feel at home, and are so helpful that you feel like 'friends of the family' when staying there.

Except for a few times where the hot water supply was a bit patchy (which I'm sure was for the whole neighborhood), we have only positive things to say and highly recommend Riad Lyon-Mogador.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location in the very centre of this idyllic little fishing hamlet. Lots of porters to meet you from the bus to help you with your luggage as cars not allowed into the Medina. Accommodation was perfectly clean and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was superb, and the roof terrace has the most incredible views you could imagine. We were made to feel so at home. The recommendations for places to eat and drink were way better than any guide book! We split our stay in Essaouira between here and one of the luxury hotels as it was our first time staying in a Riad, but regretted very much not spending our entire trip here! This is where we will be staying when we return, just hope it's not too long before we get a chance to visit Essaouira again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letmehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was not too easy to find the riad if you are the first timer to Essaouira and you choose to stay inside the medina. Be prepared to ask one of the push cart boys who knows the alleys of the medina to transport your luggage and take you to it. Arriving to the riad, it was like going home. Didier and his wife ran it with love and dedication. The standard room we stayed in was relatively small but sufficient for us. The breakfast, however, is fantastic!! the scenery from the roof terrace is breathtaking. When we checked in, Didier ran the map of the medina with us and pointed out some places to see and do. Just excellent service!! The riad is in the center of everything. Once we got our bearing, it was very easy to walk around. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The room we stayed is rather small, but it is very comfortable. The bed is cozy and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_Ebs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#9 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#13 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#22 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Lyon-Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Property: Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Address: 39 Rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Lyon-Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Mogador, on the edge of the Atlantic, the Lyon-Mogador is a "safe haven" in the heart of the medina in the magical city of Essaouira. This charming XVIII, organized on 4 levels, wraps around the skylight. 13 authentic rooms and a terrace offering a panoramic view of the ocean and the Medina, will help make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ryad Lyon-Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Lyon Mogador Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing