We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great terrace and lovely owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great terrace and lovely owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The owner Didier was very helpful and all the people who worked there were lovely and friendly. Our room was nice - it had a bath which was a first for us in Morocco! It was nicely decorated & clean. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The wifi worked very well and they offer a service to clean your clothes at 30 dirhams (no matter the weight). A really good location right in the centre of the medina. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flojobordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    58
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
61
133
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

To our surprise we had Been welcomed by friendly super helpful staff and an informaive introduction of the city. We were very impressed by the rooms and it's panoramic view of the city and the sea on the rooftop.
Location very close to the beach and Medina.

Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weinraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

A fabulous riad, amazing architecture. The owner spent so much time telling us of the history of the house and the area. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Breakfast were served on the terrace at the top if the room, with breathtaking views of the port and city. The breakfasts were Delicious and plentiful, everything was spotlessly clean and we could have spent all day taking in the sights.
The room was large and we loved the decorations so much that we have copied the decor for our room, at home.Not having a door to the bathroom did not bother us like some previous comments, you cannot have everything for such an amazing price..
The riad was slap bang in the middle of the Medina so shopping and eating out was on your door step.
The area is in the Medina yes it is noisy kids are running round, we were there during Ramadan so it was very busy with ordinary Morrocans getting ready to celebrate. food stalls with all local produce. spices olives etc this was typical Morroco.
The owner will advise you of where to eat if you want typical, delicious Morrocan food at an amazing price.
During the visit I did a cookery course at I'Atelier Madada where I learned to cook lamb tagine and whilst it was cooking we went shopping for the spices we used. I am so glad that I took the time out from sunbathing and sightseeing. Pauline and her team were fantastic definitely worth the time out.
All in all a wonderful riad exceeded our expectation.s

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphysEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Positives:-

Easy to find location from the Supratour bus stop. Slap bang in the medina and only a stones throw away from the port and any other attractions.
Rooms were clean and adequate space for two people. The breakfast was plentiful and full of variety, in fact it was the best breakfast during my whole week in Morroco - with fresh fruit, croissants and warm pancakes with syrup. Breakfast was also served on the amazing terrace with 360 degree view of Eassouria.
Warm welcome and greeted with mint tea and given a really helpful map of Essaouria with tips and what to do by the owner of the riad.
Despite the staffs limit in English, they made a great effort to converse with non-french speaking guests.
Free wi-fi on every level guaranteed strong signals in and out the room! BONUS!
Has a hair drier!!!!
No air conditioning - but don't let that put you off. It's sooo cool and shaded indoors that it gets a bit nippy at night, but thanks for the appropriate duvet.

Negative:-
The room had several flies roaming around and found a crawling insect in the room - which we took care of ourselves.
Another major problem which was at no fault of the hotel at all were the noisy neighbours. If you plan to have an early nights sleep then be prepared to withstand screaming children and men conversing loudly till 12a.m.
Be prepared to climb quite a few flight of stairs but that didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Loved this riad overall!

The rooms were nice and it was clean. The riad itself was absolutely lovely in terms of decor. The rooftop terrace was divine! Great breakfast included and wonderful views over the ocean and surrounding area! Do not miss the sunset from here!

There is also free and speedy Wifi available.

The only small thing was that someone was not always available at the front. Mind you, it is understandable to a certain degree, but it would have been nice if there was more info provided in case immediate service was required.

Other than that - perfectly lovely!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

For $45 a night, this place went beyond my expectations. It is clean, comfortable, open and beautifully decorated. When you arrive, the owner meets with you on the rooftop to give you a run down of the city with a map and tea. The service was wonderful and the breakfast, though simple, was the best I'd had in Morocco. I wound up coming to Essaouria a day early and if I hadn't prepaid for my room in Marrakech, I would have stayed another night.

Room Tip: Request an extra blanket at check in, as it can get chilly at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravSpaz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were there for one night and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, the welcome tea and information that was given to us was great. Nice and central in the Medina. We were 2 couples staying there and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BloggerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#14 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Lyon-Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Property: Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Address: 39 Rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Lyon-Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Mogador, on the edge of the Atlantic, the Lyon-Mogador is a "safe haven" in the heart of the medina in the magical city of Essaouira. This charming XVIII, organized on 4 levels, wraps around the skylight. 13 authentic rooms and a terrace offering a panoramic view of the ocean and the Medina, will help make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ryad Lyon-Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Lyon Mogador Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing