We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pretty charming and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
Ranked #10 of 252 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty charming and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Apart from buying fish in the fish market and having it grilled in the street this was the best meal we ate in essaouira. Family run, mix of foreign vistors and moroccan families? Simple but excellent Moroccan dishes. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Indradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    238
    59
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant hidden away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This tiny place with beautiful retro decor and local photos on the walls serves up fusion food (including their black cuttlefish risotto which is fantastic) and local Moroccan wine. There isn't a huge choice but it doesn't matter because it's all really tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You must have been there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I visited Morocco 28 times in the last 7 years. This is my place! Great food, great service, great ambient, all around unique.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, below par service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We saved Elizir for the last night of our trip to morocco as we had read such good things about it and our hotel had recommended it.

Our initial reactions were very good. The decor is 60s and 70s and has a lovely higgledy piggledy feel to it. It is also small so feels quite intimate, which we liked. We were given some bread and a variety of dips onthe house to start which were all delicious. The bread tasted as though it was freshly baked too. Our starters came on time and were also of very high quality - cuttlefish risotto coloured with squid ink and smoked salmon spring rolls. Then, unfortunately, the service started to slip a bit to be honest. We waited a long time for our mains and watched other tables that had arrived after us get theres ahead of us. In fairness when they came they were very tasty - particularly the chicken and Gorgonzola tagine which had a really well-balanced flavour and was cooked to perfection - but it was frustrating to wait so long. The maitre d', who owns the restaurant, came to take our main plates and explained that during Ramadan it is hard to serve everyone as all his customers eat at the same time (the resto doesn't open until 8.30 during this period due to local eating times after sunset). However, he only had one waiter and himself for 28 covers so perhaps he should get another waiter?

We were stuffed after main course and passed on dessert (although they looked very good). I probably waited half an hour to get the bill in which time we were offered a coffee/tea on the house. I would rather have had the bill, which I asked for twice and eventually had to go and find at the front desk!

So overall our impressions were slightly tainted by less than perfect service. Allthough the food was the best we have had in morocco it was also the most expensive and when paying tht premium we expected better service. Perhaps we should put this down to Ramadan, meaning that I would still recommend a visit to Elizir.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitchl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really good italian restaurant family / 70s style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice but small restaurant has a limited carte but who cares if the food is great!
We had Gnocci as a starter and had barely enough room to allow for chocolate cake, both superb...
Service friendly but not very sophisticated.
Be on time 2030 otherwise its full :-(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vakantievierders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing