We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You must have been there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
Ranked #10 of 252 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You must have been there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I visited Morocco 28 times in the last 7 years. This is my place! Great food, great service, great ambient, all around unique.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    238
    59
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, below par service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We saved Elizir for the last night of our trip to morocco as we had read such good things about it and our hotel had recommended it.

Our initial reactions were very good. The decor is 60s and 70s and has a lovely higgledy piggledy feel to it. It is also small so feels quite intimate, which we liked. We were given some bread and a variety of dips onthe house to start which were all delicious. The bread tasted as though it was freshly baked too. Our starters came on time and were also of very high quality - cuttlefish risotto coloured with squid ink and smoked salmon spring rolls. Then, unfortunately, the service started to slip a bit to be honest. We waited a long time for our mains and watched other tables that had arrived after us get theres ahead of us. In fairness when they came they were very tasty - particularly the chicken and Gorgonzola tagine which had a really well-balanced flavour and was cooked to perfection - but it was frustrating to wait so long. The maitre d', who owns the restaurant, came to take our main plates and explained that during Ramadan it is hard to serve everyone as all his customers eat at the same time (the resto doesn't open until 8.30 during this period due to local eating times after sunset). However, he only had one waiter and himself for 28 covers so perhaps he should get another waiter?

We were stuffed after main course and passed on dessert (although they looked very good). I probably waited half an hour to get the bill in which time we were offered a coffee/tea on the house. I would rather have had the bill, which I asked for twice and eventually had to go and find at the front desk!

So overall our impressions were slightly tainted by less than perfect service. Allthough the food was the best we have had in morocco it was also the most expensive and when paying tht premium we expected better service. Perhaps we should put this down to Ramadan, meaning that I would still recommend a visit to Elizir.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitchl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really good italian restaurant family / 70s style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice but small restaurant has a limited carte but who cares if the food is great!
We had Gnocci as a starter and had barely enough room to allow for chocolate cake, both superb...
Service friendly but not very sophisticated.
Be on time 2030 otherwise its full :-(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vakantievierders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal all year, v cool establishment with great fresh local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

V cool ambience, amazing decor, this is a cool, kitsch collectors delight with some v cool photography on the walls.

The food was superb, fresh produce and some beautiful dips to start with a selection of warm breads.

delicious tagines and my friends fish and ravioli were melt in the mouth
The desserts were simple and hit the spot perfectly.

This is how every restaurant should be, short, uncomplicated menu with perfectly cooked, un fuzzy food.
I would recommend this to everyone.
V cool music too and lovely friendly owner.
Enjoy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second visit in two years-food just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This being our second visit in as many years we were hopeful standards were being maintained. We were not disappointed.The steak was cooked to perfection and the fish dinner was just right.The Elizir is a little hard to find but is worth the effort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrickTOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing