We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good italian restaurant family / 70s style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
Ranked #9 of 253 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really good italian restaurant family / 70s style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice but small restaurant has a limited carte but who cares if the food is great!
We had Gnocci as a starter and had barely enough room to allow for chocolate cake, both superb...
Service friendly but not very sophisticated.
Be on time 2030 otherwise its full :-(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vakantievierders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    238
    59
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal all year, v cool establishment with great fresh local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

V cool ambience, amazing decor, this is a cool, kitsch collectors delight with some v cool photography on the walls.

The food was superb, fresh produce and some beautiful dips to start with a selection of warm breads.

delicious tagines and my friends fish and ravioli were melt in the mouth
The desserts were simple and hit the spot perfectly.

This is how every restaurant should be, short, uncomplicated menu with perfectly cooked, un fuzzy food.
I would recommend this to everyone.
V cool music too and lovely friendly owner.
Enjoy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second visit in two years-food just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This being our second visit in as many years we were hopeful standards were being maintained. We were not disappointed.The steak was cooked to perfection and the fish dinner was just right.The Elizir is a little hard to find but is worth the effort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrickTOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Hampshire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a find! Located in the Medina. Go through the main arches and then turn right past the clock tower and through the next arches. Elizir is located just inside the first alleyway, first right. All you see is a door! We arrived at 8.30pm when it opened and already there was a queue to get in. Fascinating place full of 1970's kitch and non-matching furniture. The food was superb and the chocolate cake absolutely delicious so only have a starter or you won't have room for it! Not the cheapest of place but worth every penny.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynneGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Been in Morocco for three weeks and this is by far the best place I've eaten in. I have been twice in one week it's so good! The house complimentary appetiser (selection of dips and bread) is wonderful! I have had the salmon spring roll starter, the steak, lamb tajine, the pear pastilla and chocolate tart- all fantastic! This restauraunt is a must on anyone's list in Essouria or Morocco. Service and decor very good too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aucklandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing