We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second visit in two years-food just as good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizir

Elizir
Ranked #7 of 255 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Omagh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second visit in two years-food just as good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This being our second visit in as many years we were hopeful standards were being maintained. We were not disappointed.The steak was cooked to perfection and the fish dinner was just right.The Elizir is a little hard to find but is worth the effort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrickTOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    238
    59
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, Hampshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a find! Located in the Medina. Go through the main arches and then turn right past the clock tower and through the next arches. Elizir is located just inside the first alleyway, first right. All you see is a door! We arrived at 8.30pm when it opened and already there was a queue to get in. Fascinating place full of 1970's kitch and non-matching furniture. The food was superb and the chocolate cake absolutely delicious so only have a starter or you won't have room for it! Not the cheapest of place but worth every penny.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynneGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Been in Morocco for three weeks and this is by far the best place I've eaten in. I have been twice in one week it's so good! The house complimentary appetiser (selection of dips and bread) is wonderful! I have had the salmon spring roll starter, the steak, lamb tajine, the pear pastilla and chocolate tart- all fantastic! This restauraunt is a must on anyone's list in Essouria or Morocco. Service and decor very good too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aucklandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must go when you're in Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow. That's the only thing we said after our diner at Elizir. As a cook in The Netherlands, I'm very critical in judging restaurants. After two weeks in Morocco, this is the best experience so far.

The styling of the restaurant is funny, but well thought. The 70's are alive in Elizir! Though the food is quite modern, with a french twist in the moroccan dishes and a morrocan twist in the french dishes. We had a wonderful gnocchi and an even better tajine with lamb. Very tasteful! The chocolatepie was a little too much for our stomic, but we couldn't resist the lovely dessert.

The good food and the kind, personal service made our visit the best night so far in Morocco. A must go for every restaurantlover!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lelelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as great as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

From other reviews it seems as though this should be an amazing restaurant. Unfortunately I was dissapointed by it.

The decor is cute but I felt like I was eating in a junk store.

The food was OK. I had the lamb targine. The meat was tender but if didn't have the flavour of other targines I have had on this trip.

The service was particularly bad. After our meal we had intended to get desert but after waiting 20 mins for service we gave up and chose to go elsewhere.

Perhaps we had an "off" night but this certainly wasn't the experience I was expecting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing