We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizir

Elizir
1 derb agadir medina, Essaouira, Morocco
0524 47 21 03
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 228 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Moroccan, Italian, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Been in Morocco for three weeks and this is by far the best place I've eaten in. I have been twice in one week it's so good! The house complimentary appetiser (selection of dips and bread) is wonderful! I have had the salmon spring roll starter, the steak, lamb tajine, the pear pastilla and chocolate tart- all fantastic! This restauraunt is a must on anyone's list in Essouria or Morocco. Service and decor very good too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aucklandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must go when you're in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow. That's the only thing we said after our diner at Elizir. As a cook in The Netherlands, I'm very critical in judging restaurants. After two weeks in Morocco, this is the best experience so far.

The styling of the restaurant is funny, but well thought. The 70's are alive in Elizir! Though the food is quite modern, with a french twist in the moroccan dishes and a morrocan twist in the french dishes. We had a wonderful gnocchi and an even better tajine with lamb. Very tasteful! The chocolatepie was a little too much for our stomic, but we couldn't resist the lovely dessert.

The good food and the kind, personal service made our visit the best night so far in Morocco. A must go for every restaurantlover!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lelelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as great as I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

From other reviews it seems as though this should be an amazing restaurant. Unfortunately I was dissapointed by it.

The decor is cute but I felt like I was eating in a junk store.

The food was OK. I had the lamb targine. The meat was tender but if didn't have the flavour of other targines I have had on this trip.

The service was particularly bad. After our meal we had intended to get desert but after waiting 20 mins for service we gave up and chose to go elsewhere.

Perhaps we had an "off" night but this certainly wasn't the experience I was expecting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best and most original restaurant by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

With Italian influences, this is by far the best restaurant we have visited in Essaouira. My family of 6 people enjoyed everything, and we agreed with the manager that when the 8 year olds finish their plates, it is a succes! The pre starters were excellent. Then we had Black cuttlefish risotto and gnocchi, which were rich and Well balanced, and then tagine with tender lamb, and ravioli which was probably the best ravioli we EVER had! Service was very friendly and the decor is worth seeing and an Experience in itself - even without the food. Such a great an Experience. Just sad we did not have room for desert...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Elizar was so good we returned a second night. Really cool restaurant with very funky and unusual décor it was like a cross between traditional Morocco and “A Clockwork Orange” which for some reason worked well. The service was very good and the food was superb. The owner was a very nice guy and the atmosphere there was intimate, private, warm and welcoming. Very special little place in every way, could not fault our experience on either night. If we’re ever back in Essaouira we will without doubt be stopping by. Best to make reservation, first night we didn’t have one and didn’t have a table immediately we had to call back 20 mins later which was no problem and we got a great table then. Very surprised at the handful of bad reviews the food was great and the service and owner were great also. I guess you can only go on your own experiences and both of our visits were excellent, thanks

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eskillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizir also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Elizir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing