We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
Ranked #12 of 255 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: You're welcome ! A couscous, a tajine, a pastilla or briouates ? Or maybe you are looking for vegeterian dishes ? It's here ! Would you like to spend a evening in a intimate setting whose walls are adorned with beautifull pictures ? Lawrence Quammu will gladly share a moment with you to share his passion : Photography Menu at 80 and 120 dhs Closed on sunday, open from 19.30. Wifi
Level Contributor
252 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We took our baby for dinner and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had a delicious avocado salad and the vegetable tagine & filet minion for main. All were excellent! Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. One of our best dinners in Morocco!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    159
    33
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Frech food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the sister restaurant to La Cle de Voute. We ate here on our last night, and it definitely felt like a special occasion. The food is predominantly French with some Moroccan dishes as well. Their seafood pastilla was incredible. I had the seafood au gratin as a main which was rich but delicious. My girlfriend had the seafood pasta which unfortunately was very bland. The service was excellent, and Moroccan wine is available. In my experience I'd give the edge to La Cle de Voute just because on whole our food there was better, but you can't go wrong with either one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philadelphia_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining with lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Subtle lighting, relaxed atmosphere, delicious amouse Bouche, amazing sea bass tartare and cous cous

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and perfect service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant. The food was spot on - tasty tagine and one of the most perfectly cooked sea bream fillets I've tasted in a long time. The owner was humble and charming, and made us feel extremely welcome, whilst the waiter was attentive without being over bearing. The owner's got it right here.. Hopefully we'll have time to check out the sister restaurant nearby.

Highly recommended, that was a lovely evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant in Essaoira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

As much as we have thoroughly enjoyed traditional Moroccan cooking we were craving something different. Having consulted trip advisor and seen the superb reviews this restaurant was getting we decided to take a chance and turn up. The welcome was warm, and we were given beautiful dates and caramelised onion as a little appetiser. The menu had good choice but was not overwhelming with extra dishes of the day. We started with a beautifully balanced avocado and orange salad ( totally delicious), followed by red mullet and fillet mignon with curry and rice. Both these dishes were outstanding....2 very clean plates can testify to this. These wonderful mains were topped by a mocha creme brûlée and a fantastic prune, chocolate and Armagnac base topped with a very delicate vanilla ice cream. Absolutely Devine. The ambience was lovely, staff very helpful and attentive and the food was to die for. We absolutely recommend for anyone looking for a special meal .Good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryll K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing