We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
Ranked #1 of 264 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: You're welcome ! A couscous, a tajine, a pastilla or briouates ? Or maybe you are looking for vegeterian dishes ? It's here ! Would you like to spend a evening in a intimate setting whose walls are adorned with beautifull pictures from Essaouira and Cuba ? Lawrence Quammu will gladly share a moment with you to share his passion : Photography Menu at 80 and 120 dhs Closed on tuesday, open from 19.00. Wifi
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My sister recommended the place to me and for once it was good to listen to her.

This place offers absolutely fantastic fusion food in an intimate setting.
There are not many tables which adds to the distinct atmosphere.

The food was probably the best we've had in our two weeks Marocco. Especially the monk fish tartar with limes was outstanding.

If you want something different than the tajines and couscous this is certainly the place to go as the food is delivered with excellence and creativity hardly found elsewhere in Marocco.

If you are in essaouira - try it out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianxue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    172
    35
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent two nights in Essaouira and we just did not want to try any other restaurants in town.
The Service and the food are one of a kind.

And..... the Moroccan Seafood Pastilla ???? is a must. ENDULGE YOURSELF.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ate here twice during our stay in Essaouira- excellent both times (fusion of Moroccan and French styles), and attentive service but probably helps if you speak French. Veal in particular was excellent. Highly recommended and good value given the quality of the food. Also try it's 'sister' restaurant, La Clé de Voute, which is run by the wife of the owner of this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“YUM!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A lovely little restaurant we stumbled upon near our Riad and surprised us with its scrumptious food. We had the avocado and tomato salad for starters - divine and the fish of the day for main. My goodness me, it was the nicest most delightful white fish I've had with a simple lemony cream dressing on the side, well presented and prepared vegetables. The wine is very nice, local and well priced. Wish I could go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Car0line_in_the_city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
“Romantic ambiance, good food & music”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed a memorable dinner at this restaurant. Food was well prepared, service was friendly and prompt. The atmosphere is cozy, calm and romantic. We especially enjoyed the music, which the owner was happy to introduce us to. Would go back if we had more time in Essaouira.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkPlumeriaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing