We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic ambiance, good food & music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 Bis, Rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 228 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Moroccan, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
“Romantic ambiance, good food & music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed a memorable dinner at this restaurant. Food was well prepared, service was friendly and prompt. The atmosphere is cozy, calm and romantic. We especially enjoyed the music, which the owner was happy to introduce us to. Would go back if we had more time in Essaouira.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkPlumeriaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

as this was the top restaurant on trip advisor maybe it had been built up for a fall. Was very good food was lovely, staff and owner nice and service was good but didn't quite live up to expectations. The restaurant itself is nice but doesn't have anything special on some of the other restaurants in Essaouira. maybe its horses for courses and a victim of its own success. Can't fault it really a very good solid restaurant just don't think its worthy of its place on the list but obviously others do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eskillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
371 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“French Fare in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and meal at this warm and friendly restaurant. The menu features a mixture of French and Moroccan dishes. We opted for the French dishes, starting with a shared goats cheese salad that was very tasty but could have been a bit larger portion. The steak was generous and very good fillet of Moroccan beef. Our other main course was a gratin with prawns and calamari that was also very good. We didn't have coffee or desserts, but with two glasses of a full-bodied Moroccan red wine and a large bottle of sparkling water our bill came to about 35 Euro which we consider excellent value. The room is quaint, comfortable and intimate. The service is very attentive. The French owner is also a photographer and his portfolio of very interesting photographs is available to browse. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent a week in Essaouira and dined at a different restaurant each evening. This was definitely our favourite; an interesting and varied menu, excellent service from Lawrence and superb food. If you're visiting Essaouira then this restaurant is a must. We wanted to try the restaurant run by his wife, Liliana, but ran out of time. If we come back to Essaouira for another holiday we will definitely return. Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What can I say about D'Orient et d'Ailleurs, number 1? In my opinion, NO WAY. It’s a nice place, good food and service, but nothing special. There was nothing in the menu that I thought I would love to have so ended having the fish tagine, one of the specials of the day. It was a bit boring and bland, I have to say. The place lacked ‘je ne sais quoi’, a bit too serious. From all the places we ate in Essaouira, I’m afraid I would put this restaurant at the bottom of our list. Don’t get me wrong, it was not that bad, it was just the other places we went to were much better.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viajesporelmundo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing