We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
Ranked #1 of 266 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You're welcome ! A couscous, a tajine, a pastilla or briouates ? Or maybe you are looking for vegeterian dishes ? It's here ! Would you like to spend a evening in a intimate setting whose walls are adorned with beautifull pictures from Essaouira and Cuba ? Lawrence Quammu will gladly share a moment with you to share his passion : Photography Menu at 80 and 120 dhs Closed on tuesday, open from 19.00. Wifi
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night and were not disappointed, lovely ambience andlots of good food, my girlfriend couldnt fit a desert in.great service I would recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    174
    37
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Can fully recommend this restaurant, we had the avocado salad and goats cheese salad for starter, the lamb tagine and veal for mains! It was also so nice to enjoy a bottle of the Meknes Cab Sav while we dined. Atmosphere and service was wonderful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NakiLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing night of food and wine!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I went here on Tripadvisor recommendations and we were not dissapointed. We dine at lots of nicerestaurants and this was some of the best food and wine we have had. The atmosphere was lovely and the two bottles of wine we had were of a very high standard (especially the Cabernet Sauvignon red). If you are in Essaouira you must try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoEngLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, tagine to die for!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The sister restaurant (La Cle de Voute) to another highly ranked trip advisor restaurant about 100m away, this one delivers more great service and food for a reasonable price. My tagine was gorgeous with lamb, prunes and apricots, really melt in your mouth. My other half had a lovely steak, as nice as the others he had also had at Elizir and the sister restaurant to this place, although none were as good as steaks you can get in a great steak place in the UK I have to say. The chocolate fondant dessert was nice, but for 5 euros (not cheap cheap in Morrocco), I thought there should have been a bit more, a slighter bigger ramekin wouldnt have hurt! Service was great, wine lovely. I did find that both restaurants passing you their business cards, as well as giving you information and a detailed description of how you actually add a trip advisor review about them a little too much, it seems they are good marketers indeed, but perhaps they are just striving to be no1/2 on TA! Still the best Tagine I had in Morocco.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingFrog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Crtainly the best place in Essaouira with sister restaurant la cle de voute. Beautiful fish food and amazing meetballs. Te wine a special reserve from Meknes also stunning. Definetively a place to go if you are in Essaouira!! Price also very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micio1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing