We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect”

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
Ranked #11 of 261 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: You're welcome ! A couscous, a tajine, a pastilla or briouates ? Or maybe you are looking for vegeterian dishes ? It's here ! Would you like to spend a evening in a intimate setting whose walls are adorned with beautifull pictures ? Lawrence Quammu will gladly share a moment with you to share his passion : Photography Menu at 80 and 120 dhs Closed on sunday, open from 19.30. Wifi
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This restaurant was simply fantastic and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Essaouira. We received such a warm welcome from Lawrence, the owner, despite us being quite late for our table. The interior was gorgeous and all the staff made sure that the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Then the food - the menu wasn't traditional Moroccan cuisine, but I can honestly say it was the best food I tasted on my tour of Morocco. We loved it so much that we returned for our last night of our trip and it was every bit as good as the first time. The highlight for me was the coffee crème brulee - it was the best dessert I've ever tasted. If you're going to Essaouira - you have to go here!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    163
    34
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I decided to eat here on our one evening in Essaouira after seeing the reviews on trip advisor. It was definitely the right decision. Really tasty food, warm atmosphere, good service and was pleasantly surprised when we got the bill. Overall, would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank knackered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just delicious, food and surroundings”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Eaten here a couple of years ago and just as good, deserves to be No1, just try it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have eaten here twice and will go back! The steak with mustard sauce is great as is the veggy tagine. The waiter is fantastic! The owner is a photographer and gave our daughters a couple of photos which they really appreciated. The decor is very nice, the service attentive and overall, good value for money. If you want something a little different, this place will not disappoint!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yuk0nfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to finish the day”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you are wondering which alleyway in Essaouira to explore and find a really good restaurant,head for this unassuming doorway.You will find a warm welcome from the young owner allied with very well cooked food from an interesting menu enjoyed in comfortable surroundings.Good value, as is the restaurant nearby - La Cle de Voute - run by the owner's wife.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StaffordWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing