We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little overrated but "très sympha"”

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
Ranked #1 of 266 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: You're welcome ! A couscous, a tajine, a pastilla or briouates ? Or maybe you are looking for vegeterian dishes ? It's here ! Would you like to spend a evening in a intimate setting whose walls are adorned with beautifull pictures from Essaouira and Cuba ? Lawrence Quammu will gladly share a moment with you to share his passion : Photography Menu at 80 and 120 dhs Closed on tuesday, open from 19.00. Wifi
Köln, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little overrated but "très sympha"”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We live part-time in Essaouira and have heard rave reviews about it from other. We were a little disappointed by the food, especially since we found the prices not adequate for the quality. But that was compensated for by the lovely owners who would substitute this for that, would make special meals for special needs etc. We will definitely give it another try.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    174
    37
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Arrived without a booking and luckily found a table for two. Service was very good and the food top quality. Definitely a must if in town!
WIFI a bonus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robfarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A beautiful dining experience”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Not the easiest place to find but certainly the best dining experience I had in Morocco. The venue is beautifully decorated with lots of subtle finishing touches. The staff were efficient and friendly. And the food was amazing. Tender lamb with tasty vegetables and fluffy cous cous. It's what I went to Morocco for but I only found it cooked to this standard at this restaurant. Even the toilets are immaculate with indiviual hand towels rather than the customary tissues we found everywhere else.

If you visit Essaouira you really must eat here.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beardshaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent food”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Wonderful place, the food is just so much better then anywhere we've been eating in Morocco, a combination of French en Maroccan cuisine, hidden in the north corner of the old town, just close to the Skala de la Kasbah. The owner is very friendly and knows his wines to go with the food!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very friendly staff and cozy restaurant.”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The white wine from Essaouira, bottom of the list, was a real surprise!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing