We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local choice”
Review of Chez les Freres

Chez les Freres
Ranked #59 of 266 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good local choice”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant and are pleased we did. Warm and welcoming (but not overbearing) host who asked if he could answer any of our questions with the menu which was a nice touch. Nice food and decor inside and good value. We asked for help on where we were within the medina and he was very helpful and informative and showed us some paperwork from when Game of Thrones season 3 filmed scenes here. He shared lots of other useful info too. Well worth stopping here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank andyp63StAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slow service but well worth the wait!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We ate here this evening and felt compelled to write a review straight away. This place is great value and the decor and atmosphere is the best we've encountered in Morocco. For some reason we were the only people there but fear not, the food is excellent, highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WeariestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Essaouira!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner in this nice restaurant. Apart from traditional Moroccan food, they also serve wonderful spaghetti, which was perfect for us after 5 days of tajines and couscous! :) The restaurant is very nice furnished and we also loved the nice music that was playing in the background. They are perfect hosts. We recommend the crème de legumes (vegetable soup) and the tomatoe salad with goat cheese for starters. The spaghetti were perfect and I'm sure that the Moroccan food is perfect as well. Definitely a very good place to have a nice dinner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanessaBrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Essaouira!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Amin is the best host in the world! He cooks, waits on tables and makes everyone welcome. The food is delicious, especially the monk fish and zealak (?) aubergine starter.
A very unique place. We went there to eat three nights in a row we loved it so much!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The warmest and most welcoming owners and yummy food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I walked into the restaurant when i saw the sign on the street, cos I saw the menu was not long (indicating, perhaps, that they tried to do fewer things well rather than attempt a huge variety). It turned out to be a great choice. The 2 owners (a chubby chef) and his brother who works front of the house were the most warm, friendly hosts and gave me advice about where to go in the town when i asked. The food was great too! the chicken pastilla was crispy and wonderful, and eggplant salad was flavorful. My 4 other friends also went into that restaurant 2 days later accidentally, and they told me they even cooked with the chef! (it was after peak hours for lunch and they have a rather open kitchen).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonlee60201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez les Freres also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez les Freres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing