We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice one”
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Baladin
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice one”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

my wife and I spent only a day in essaouira and the night at riad baladin. It was quite and comfortable. if I ever go back to essaouira I will definitely consider riad baladin again. If you are looking for a nice and romantic place where to spend time with your partner this is the one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biagioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    228
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
159
592
87
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We did really enjoy our stay in riad baladin. We were really lucky with the weather and the sun beds on the terrace were great to relax when the weather was hot! Our room was quite small and a little bit tired with the tap and plug sockets a bit loose. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and the mattress wasn't even! The breakfast was very nice and was good to get a wider selection than you get in riads in Marrakech. A lot of the reviews mention the great service and it was useful to get recommendations but we did find it a bit full on and quite like being left to our own devices on holiday. We were also asked to put a review onto trip advisor which I don't agree you should ask people to do. Overall this riad is in a great location and is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellekaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavlinova, Manager at Riad Baladin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guests of Riad Baladin
Just a quick reaction to that review:
We've been very surprised to read for ones that we give too many recommendations...
It's meant like a little help from a friend who gives you maybe more interesting links for things to do and see in Essaouira including some very good Restaurants, Cooking course, Spa visit or Excursions to "secret"/hidden places outside of the town not mentioned in any guidebook - it's to take or to leave this is certainly your own decision! Usually our guests are quite happy about our suggestions:-)
And today it's absolutely also common to ask clients to write their opinion on Tripadvisor - first of all we do not have a guestbook at the hotel or on our website therefore we're more than happy to know what our guests really do think about their stay at the Riad Baladin! Also that is to take or to leave of course - it's not a must for anybody...
Finally, if the comments are rather positive then it's a big pleasure for us, too - after having more than 500 "Excellent" & "Very good" reviews we do certainly know that we're on the right path with our service for a lot of people!
Anyway, everybody is welcome at the Riad Baladin - see you hopefully very soon!...:-)
Nicole Pavlin (Manager Riad & Restaurant Baladin)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a wonderful 1 week stay in Chambre Grise. The room was fantastic and we took a peek at many of the other rooms which were also great. Service from everybody was superb including breakfast and from the night staff (lighting the fire, preparing the jacuzzi etc). Nicole went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed our stay including organising our airport transport, arranging activities, etc and her recommendations for restuarants, activities etc were always spot on. Thankyou so much to everyone, and loved the puppy dog.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Riad Baladin was a wonderful stop during our recent trip to Morocco. The hotel is clean, warm and friendly. We had a wonderful time and will certainly be heading back there on our next trip. Claudia and all the staff were especially helpful in directing us around the town. The internal architecture and room layout is wonderfully simple and very soothing. The Riad Baladin is a wonderful base from which to explore the ancient city of Essaouira.

And when there make sure to go horseback riding on the beach! Claudia arranged for us to get horses at Equi Evasion, just outside of town. Excellent guides, well trained horses and fantastic beach. You can Canter (or gallop if experienced) for kilometers on end. This was the high point of our Moroccan trip. Thank you Claudia!!

Room Tip: the 'honeymoon suite' has a fireplace and a bathtub.. the ocean put you to sleep..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My brother and I stayed for 2 nights in March. The Riad is gorgeous, clean, relaxing and really special. We would have liked to stay longer. The rooms were relaxing and breakfast on the roof terrace was wonderful - the service was friendly and smiley, the breakfast tasty, and the view of the whitewashed surroundings and seagulls perfect. The riad was also in a great location. Claudia was amazing and told us really excellent places to go - we followed her advice and had a great time. Would recommend definitely and would definitely go back. xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We chose Riad Baladin having read the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to miss Nicole but were warmly welcomed and helped by Claudia who was managing the Riad whilst Nicole was away. I am not sure whether I would call the Riad 'luxurious' but it is charmingly decorated, in light airy colours with lots of traditonal fixtures and fittings and a relaxed vibe. It is clean (a bit sandy sometimes because of the wind) and the staff are warm and incredibly helpful. The beds are locally made (I slept very well), some of the towels were a little frayed, soap was provided but no shower gel, shampoos etc. Our room was on the first floor looking into the courtyard - it was very pretty but short of natural light. We completely failed to work out how the door locked - but since they like to leave our room open to air during the day as the sea air is quite damp, you have to not worry too much about security! Our teenagers had rooms with single beds in a different part of the riad and they were much lighter and you could lock the doors. A good breakfast was served on the roof terrace - bread, croissants, yogurt, fruit salad and eggs if you'd like them. There were no other drinks or snacks served in the Riad - so more like a b&b really. They seemed happy for us to bring in our own beer and wine though and provided glasses and a corkscrew. All the restaurant recommendations were great - and we ate wonderfully well every evening. Both our lunch spots - the fish market and the gipsy cafe at Sidi Kaouk were truly memorable! It is very well situated in the medina and we felt very safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbedbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great stay in this well run and friendly property. Nicole was a super host full of great recommendations. Our dinner in caravan club proving to be one of the highlights of our week long holiday. If you're after a clean, well located riad with delightful staff then this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrikin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
806 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing