We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Baladin
Nearby Hotels
Riad Chbanate(Essaouira)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Madada Mogador(Essaouira)
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Perle d'Eau(Essaouira)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Watier(Essaouira)
$107
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fontaine Bleue(Essaouira)
$76
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveler rating
879
239
31
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
239
31
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubroof terracefruit saladtucked awaythe ground floorvisit essaouirahome from homedelicious breakfasta lovely staylovely staffnicolechambreriadheartmoroccoseamedina
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this Riad during a weeklong trip through Morocco in August 2012. First of all, try to make it out to Essaouira as the seaside locale distinguishes it greatly from other tourist spots in Morocco. The location is great, easily within walking distance to many of the places you'll want to see in Essaouira. If you're unsure of how to get there, have a porter take you to the Riad's tucked-away entrance. We stayed in Chambre Grise, and it seems all of the rooms have unique charm. Of course, as everyone else will note, our multilingual hostess/owner was a great help during our stay. Breakfast on the terrace was always a treat, and the other common areas were also nice to lounge in. There were renovations at the time of our visit, but hopefully these have since been completed. Definitely recommended for a short...or long stay in Essaouira!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gsa_and_av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Riad Baladin quickly felt like a home away from home. The rooms are cosy and very tastefully decorated, and the roof terrace is ideal for catching some silent rays of sunshine. Tempting to spend much of your time lazing about the place, but Nicole will ensure that you make the most of your holidays with great recommendations for excursions and restaurants and shopping nearby. I stayed at 2 different riads during my time in Essaouira and wish I'd spent my whole time at Baladin. Nicole's care and personal attention gives Baladin a warmth and atmosphere of welcoming that is rare, and definitely makes a difference in terms of feeling at ease and at home while traveling.

After leaving Essaouira I went to the desert for a few days and she gave me amazing tips on where to stay on my way there and back, as well as helping me to rent a car for the trip. When I got lost trying to find one of the riad's she'd recommended I didn't hesitate to call her to ask for directions. She definitely goes beyond just making your stay in Essaouira one to remember, she seems personally invested in making your whole holiday an amazing experience.

Thanks to Nicole and all of the wonderful staff for such a great memory and hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Riad Baladin for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year as part of a family trip to Morocco. We originally booked Chambre Terrasse but Nicole the manageress very kindly upgraded us to Chambre Rose after our first night. We were 2 adults with a 6 year old and she felt Chambre Rose would suit us better. On arrival Nicole was there to welcome us and immediately sat us down and pointed out all the things to see and recommended places to eat. Breakfast was great and served on the terrace and rooms very comfortable. The Riad is very well positioned and a short walk to almost all the places you would want to go to. Pasta Baladin around the corner is also great for a great pasta and they even delivered to the Riad one evening when they could not accommodate our party of 6 in the restaurant. All in all very friendly staff, clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Baladin.

Room Tip: Chambre Gris and Rose have fireplaces for slightly cooler winter months. Chambre Terrasse has loads of natural day light.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathKurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Riad Baladin is a beautiful place to stay in Essaouira, and the nicest place we stayed during our time in Morocco. Unlike more traditional riads, the place is full of light and sunshine. The rooms are decorated in white, light wood, and with Moroccan lamps and textiles. We stayed in the family room which was completed in September 2012. The bed was a four-poster and a wooden ladder led up to a mezzanine level where there were two further beds. The bathroom was spacious and painted in Mediterranean blue. There were bathrobes and slippers, and even a hair-dryer, which was a bonus.

Baladin is run by Nicole who is Swiss and speaks English, French and German. She sat down with us on arrival and marked a map with all the best places to eat and drink, the spots with the most beautiful views, and an awesome vegetarian cafe with retro furnishings. Nicole has been in Essaouira for several years and is married to a local so has great advice on both things to see and do locally as well as the best places to go in Morocco.

Breakfast was brilliant - the best and biggest breakfast we had in Morocco. There was fresh bread and several kinds of jam, teas, fresh coffee, freshly-squeezed orange juice, Swiss muesli and fruit salad, yoghurt, and eggs cooked in the style of our choosing. Baladin has a fantastic multi-level terrace with sun loungers and shaded sitting alcoves.

My partner and I also tried out the spa/jacuzzi which had lit candles and was relaxing enough to almost fall asleep in.

We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Riad Baladin is exquisitely decorated, very stylish, comfortable, and so welcoming! Nicole is wonderful and her colleagues are kind and helpful. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Make time for the hot tub. Lovely stay -- wish it could have been longer!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank traveler08504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews