We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Place & Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Baladin
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place & Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This spot is in the old city and is really beautiful. It's not very big, but all of the rooms have a nice boutique feel and everything is pretty new. The best part is the complementary breakfast that was served on the rooftop terrace - delicious and stunning views. Also, Nicole, the owner spent a lot of time with us making sure we knew how to get around and giving us recommendations on restaurants and activities. I was there with friends, but I could see this being a really romantic spot if you got one of the couple's rooms and used the hot tub in the central courtyard.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    221
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
146
577
85
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Riad Baladin, and in Essaouira in general. The riad's interiors reflect the beachside location, and our room was lovely, as was the roof terrace. Breakfast was really good - we liked having the option of eggs along with our bread and fruit. Be aware that there are steep uneven steps to climb to the terrace, which is where breakfast is served, and to the upper rooms (you'll carry your own bags). It wasn't always possible to find staff, which was frustrating, but when we stayed Nicole, the manager, was away, so things might be different if she's there. The women who made and served breakfast were lovely, as was the night manager. The bed was the least comfortable of our stay in Morocco - very firm, unsprung mattress (this seems to be the trend in Morocco, but other beds in other places didn't bother us). We appreciated being met at the Supratours bus stop. The location is excellent, and Pasta Baladin, the pasta bar owned and run by the riad, was a good option for a quick low-key dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pontiuspony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavlinova, Manager at Riad Baladin, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear guests of Riad Baladin
As a manager of a hotel and organizer of trips till to the desert I have to do once a year myself this excursion which we are offering to all our guests on our website so I can see that it is still as we promise to the clients.
Indeed, I wasn't present when those guests were at the Riad Baladin unfortunately but my assistant Claudia takes over also on my days off - so far never a problem! She's doing her job very well, thanks:-)
Also, we do receive lots of compliments for our beds (see pictures on website) which are all HANDMADE with LOCAL wood in "Beldy"-style and Baldachin curtains on top & HANDMADE mattresses with only NATURAL material such as cotton etc. and not too soft and not too hard...
Hopefully our future guests will appreciate those facts and they will have just wonderful dreams!
Anyway, we wish to everybody: Good night and a nice, long, deep sleep:-)
(Nicole Pavlin, manager Riad & Restaurant Baladin)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The riad was a lovely, relaxing place to stay. The building and decor are fantastic - laid-back, seaside feel, with a maze of stairways and beautiful rooms, dotted with interesting and unusual artwork. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was always a treat, with the crashing of waves on the shoreline in the background. Nicole is an excellent host, providing lots of information and places to eat, drink and visit - far more than we were able to squeeze into our two night stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JN_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here! I LOVED the rustic, tasteful "out of a magazine" type decor. So beautiful! A drink on the roof terrace was very special and the staff very helpful. They even did out laundry free of charge. Nicole the owner is just divine and took us to an amazing beach restaurant. We had the most beautiful fire place in our room and the room was well appointed with enough room and bottled water. Would love to go back!!! A special spot for us! Thank You for an amazing stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim27381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
283 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nicole provided us a wonderful, warm welcome with plenty of information on enjoying our stay in the riad and in Essaouira. The bedroom/bathroom was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the comfy common rooms. Breakfast on the rooftop was plentiful and filling. Very convenient location in the medina. Essaouira was one of the highlights in our three-week stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Riad Baladin. We stayed in Chambre Amoureux. The decor was very tasteful with a large bathroom including big bathtub and separate shower.
The room was cleaned daily and bottled water replenished, which was a nice touch!
The breakfast was very filling with excellent coffee cooked eggs, fresh bread, croissants, fruit salad and delicious yogurt. The rooftop patio is definitely a great feature. We enjoyed relaxing in the sun on the lounge chairs with views over the sea and town. On the last night we enjoyed a private hot tub in the Riad. They lit candles around the bath and we enjoyed an hour of relaxing in the bubbles! Nicole was a perfect host. She obviously puts a lot of work into every aspect of the Riad to ensure guests are happy and taken care of from the moment they set foot into Essaouira. We were met off the Supratours bus from Marakesh and escorted for the 10 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel location was excellent as were all of Nicole's recommendation for restaurants in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked the family room that we were advised had a private terrace for us only. It turned out it was not a private terrace and were advised after a couple of days we were sharing with the room below - other guests also were able and did use it. Our room was tiny - double bed up against the wall and no space to put a chair in to sit on. It is a nice riad if you are only staying for 2-3 nights. The breakfast gets boring after a few days as it does not vary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavlinova, Manager at Riad Baladin, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guests of the Riad Baladin

This review is really a bit disappointing - after having renovated the 2nd house of Riad Baladin
we do offer now to our guests a huge terrace which is actually built on 6 different levels/floors:
1 sitting area with a family table, 3 breakfast areas with 8 tables and 3 terraces with 8 long chairs - enough space for 24 people!
It was originally meant that the terraces each side belong to the rooms of each house but guests do like to change sometimes - especially if they're here at the hotel for several days and nights:-)
(obviously some people do not...).

That couple who has written this review had booked the new family suite "chambre Ciel" which offers a double bed and a mezzanin/1st floor with 2 single beds - enough space for 2 people in a room which is usually for 4! (2 adults & 2 children)

Those guests did enjoy their stay of 8 nights(!) without paying the hotel so far (the amount was more than 500 Euros in total...) - simply because they were not remembering the email conversation that they had to pay cash on arrival (or departure if they want - one can choose) - we have let them leave by giving them just our bank account details and our trust that they will settle the bill while being back home! (which we hope that they will do so - no confirmation yet but a comment on Tripadvisor...).

We do think this offer is a very generous gesture from Riad Baladin and no other hotel will let them go off without paying! Sadly also they did not even mention that at all in their review:-(

And last but not least for all our guests:
Have a look at the review before and after that one... (English version or other languages)
Anyway, everybody is welcome - so see you hopefully at the Riad Baladin:-)
Nicole Pavlin (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#9 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#6 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#4 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Baladin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing