We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy restaurant”
Review of Restaurant Ramsess

Restaurant Ramsess
Ranked #31 of 266 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cosy restaurant”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went in for lunch, was welcomed by staff who didnt speak much english - but made us feel welcome anyway ! We soon had the english speaking owner (?), who recommended a chicken tagine and couscous - melt in the mouth , lovely food. recommended !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mekbrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    83
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go to Ramsess for home cooking and great local music!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First of all you'll meet the lovely Zineb, who will greet you and tell you about her mother's home cooking. The meals were homemade and excellent, and very reasonably priced. They have delicious Moroccan wine by the bottle or glass. Daily fish specials and everything we tried was superb.

What really makes it a special place is the live music -- Rachid, Youssef and Yassine are a very talented trio that sing and play percussion/guitars and local instruments. Their music is mesmerizing and the beats have remained in my head now a week after leaving lovely Essaouira.

I really recommend that you check out Ramsess and experience the magic happening there! Really nice people, brought us back time and time again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank djwendella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Food , wonderful hospitality, Fabulous Live music”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I dined here twice on our recent trip to Essaouira. We had a recommendation from the Riad where we were staying.
The welcome was warm and friendly in a relaxed informal Moroccan setting. The food was local Moroccan dishes freshly repaired and delicious. Good value for money.
We were greatly entertained by a local traditional Gnawa band who played live on both evenings . You have got to see these three young guys in action they had the house rocking.
We will be back !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dermot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great music !”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had the best meal of our stay in Morocco here. Though we arrived late in the evening, Zineb was very welcoming and we had a superb time. The live band of Dieez Mogador playing great Gnawa music, was really enjoyable - they even sang Happy Birthday for my husband! Wonderful experience with some very warm, friendly and hospitable people !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetrose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great food - easily the best we had eaten during a week in Morocco. Friendly service, and they serve wine. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALISON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ramsess also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Ramsess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing