We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Ramsess

Restaurant Ramsess
Ranked #30 of 250 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hinterbruhl, Austria
Level Contributor
408 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

There was a set menu for the evening, understandable and pretty filling too! A lobster bisque to start, then goat's cheese pastries, poussins with an orange sauce and then a pudding, followed by more cake at midnight. All the dishes were nicely prepared and tender. The restaurant is run by women - it is fascinating to watch them at work. The mother smiles rarely, one of the girls seems to do all the work, her sister not quite so much - leading to an argument - and if I have got the relationships right, every now and then the father wanders round asking everyone if they are happy! We had a lovely luth player during part of the evening and then a local band in between. It is difficult to judge a restaurant based on a fixed menu but we could not fault the food!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sissy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    73
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Moroccan cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside but the food is excellent and prices reasonable. We especially enjoyed the Moroccan salad, a starter which actually consists of four different salads/starters. The fish dish was a little light on fish but all in all a highly enjoyable dinner.
The restaurant offers local wines.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank steenandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

By definition Moroccan food is better when homemade.
However, Ramsess is worth visiting, it is not the most creative Moroccan cuisine I tasted, but it's good simple, confort food with fresh local ingredients and spices.
In addition, the service is very good, the owner being very helfpful and makes you feel at home.
Essaouira being a place full of tourists, Ramsess has the advantage to be a geniune restaurant with a very good value for money dishes.
I recommend this quite place to those who want to avoid the crowded hype places designed for tourists.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank El A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, warm hospitality, comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Shrimp tagine, salmon kabob on couscous, grilled sole with rice, and creme de petites pois (thick pea soup) comprised the nicest and most flavorful meal we've had so far on this 10-day first visit to Morocco (late December 2012).

The food was succulent - perfectly flavored and perfectly cooked, a pleasant contrast to seriously overcooked veggies and flavorings limited to a little sauce in the bottom of the pan we'd come to accept as 'normal'.

As noted by others, the place is family run; that's probably not uncommon here; but the nice thing is that this family seems very anxious to excel in the kitchen as well as in the dining room. The hostess/server/(probably manager) overflowed with the best kind of friendly hospitality. A conversation about the kind of tea needed for the traditional mint tea (gunpowder tea) led to her running off to buy a box for us. And her English is near-perfect, another gift for those of us who didn't pay good enough attention to our high school teacher.

They have wine, by the way - another rarity.

Go and enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poorjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Try the calamari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

So nice we spent both of our 2 nights in essaouira eating here. Excellent dishes and good service. Very relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ross v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ramsess also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Ramsess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing