We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, poor management.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a very fine 7 night stay here and enjoyed the town very much.

The rooms here are the real highlight, very spacious with an enormous bed. The hotel could be so much better if there was some superior management, everything seems a little haphazard. The breakfast buffet is a bit of a bun fight orchestrated by a red faced Manager who looks like he is close to boiling point! Be patient as the food is fine but be sure to ask the staff directly for hot water if you want something more than a luke warm drink. The pool side area is very nicely presented but there are not enough sun loungers to go round and secure any items that may get blown away in the strong wind. Be sure to remeber that you will be charged a local tax based on the number of nights you stay on your departure.

Overall I can really recommend the place and the price is reasonable but don't expect 5* luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuboyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Atlas Essaouira & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is really luxurious. Everything corresponds to the highest standards. Nevertheless, the access to the beach should be made more comfortable and clean. The receptionists should help to call a taxi (such service is not available).

Room Tip: The sea view is excellent due to very big windows.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikolayTbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We got the hotel at a massively discounted rate so can't complain!!
The rooms were a bit rough around the edges with towel rails on the walls hanging off and the shower over the bath not working. Also spent 3 hours on the last day waiting for dry cleaning to arrive and kept being told it was on the way!!! The public toilets downstairs were....not always clean if you get what I mean!

Good points
Breakfast was plentiful the best we had in morocco!
Location right beside the beach and the pool area was nice.
If you get it at a discounted rate and expect a low 4star then go for it!! We enjoyed it as it was different to staying in a riad which we had done for the other 5 nights if our holidays!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose the Atlas Essaouira and Spa as we wanted a hotel with a pool that was reasonably close to the Club Mistral windsurfing centre, and from that perspective it was an excellent choice. We found the location suited us perfectly - a short walk to the windsurfing centre and a slightly longer walk (15 -20 minutes) or short, cheap taxi ride to the medina. We booked a sea view room directly with the hotel and were delighted, on arrival, to find that we had been upgraded to a suite which was large and comfortable with magnificent views over the beach. The gardens were stunning with huge comfortable sofas dotted about which were great for relaxing, and the pool area was very nice with a good supply of sun loungers and umbrellas. The spa was expensive but on one day there was a 50% off offer so I booked one of the 'experiences' which included a hammam, body scrub, mud wrap and massage. This was magnificent, and well worth it at half price - possibly even worth it at full price! There were only a few aspects of the Atlas I wasn't impressed with: our second floor room was directly over the bar and every night they played exceptionally loud music from 7 pm until midnight - regardless of whether anyone was in the bar or not (and with music that loud I would have found sitting in the bar unbearable) and this disturbed us quite a lot. I enquirered about moving room but was told the only available room was a standard room, and the staff were not especially interested in helping us find a solution. The breakfast was very poor for a hotel that claims to be five star - the buffet area was too small for the number of guests and the quality and selection of food was poor. My other gripes were the price of drinks at the bar and poolside (extortionate!) and the exchange rates offered at the front desk which were also tantamount to daylight robbery. Overall we had a pleasant and comfortable stay and would come again, but I would definitely drink, change money and possibly breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a room well away from the bar!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PigeonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 5 days at this hotel after 2 days in Marrakesh. The hotel is large, modern and very comfortable. We were looking for relaxation after the madness of Marrakesh so it certainly gave us this. I would say its definately not 5 star though more like 3-4 star. The pool area and gardens are lovely and one of the highlights though it can be really windy and the parasols could do with an update as we saw them fly off a few times!! :(
The staff themselves were very friendly and helpful though there did seem to be a distinct lack of organisation and management. When we ordered food at the pool bar it would usually take around 45 ins as the poor waiter had to walk from the pool bar to the restaurant in the hotel to bring the food back!!! Not ideal. The food in the buffet restaurant was just average though having said that we had 2 amazing meals in the hotels Beach restaurant (Le Seven), we couldn't believe that we were the only people in there as the food was that good though when we asked the waiter he said people didn't come because they got their food from the buffet restaurant only if they were half board. The hotel was also very pricey compared to the new town and medina. The plumbing also made a very loud noise when you flushed the toilet. Finally the resort itself is also going through a much needed overhaul with a lot of building and road work going on but it was still nice enough.

Room Tip: Keep your pool towels cards for checkout otherwise the hotel may try to charge you 300 durhams per c...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuzBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

For five stars, I would not consider that to be the normal. I have stayed in many hotels and seem to notice some things that were not quite "5 star"- Moroccan restaurant not open AT ALL( we even asked the front desk and they claimed they could get us the food but at a different restaurant-not true), seemed to have a shortage on towels and some days we had to call and ask, air does not work in the room, customer service is just ok, the public bathrooms would not work half of the time. Overall, the place was nice to stay but we would not consider it a 5 star. The food in the room or out at the restaurants was always delicious and reasonably priced. The staff was always friendly. The sauna seems to be something that I believe should be included. I was surprised that they charge you for this service. The location was nice bc we were far enough away from the crowd but a short walking distance. It made the beach area feel a little more private than maybe other parts of the beach

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a double bed if you need one. They will push two singles together if you are n...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilyabilev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel hasn't changed much since I visited 3 years ago. It is orientated towards the visitor and there is a mix of clientele. 1/3 young couples, 1/3 families and 1/3 older couples. The hotel is badged as 5 star but it really isn't. It is however a good (non western) hotel.

The good points are the room sizes and attitude of staff. The downsides are that some of the aspirations of the hotel are not met in reality. Alcoholic drinks are very expensive (a mojito costs 1/5 the cost of a nights stay), the room aircon is poor and at weekends locals take over the pool a little (and some bring dogs who like a swim).

I'm pleased I stayed here twice but I won't come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mforster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed V | Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $81 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing