We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spa? Unavailable. For no reason” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Rome
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Spa? Unavailable. For no reason”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I had been told upon arrival that the spa was Open 9-21. I went there at 9.30 and the lady told me that the pool was available with reservation only (???) and that the sauna and the steam bath were not ready yet. Unbeleivable. Supposed to be a 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    324
    144
    78
    50
See reviews for
212
465
48
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Although this hotel this hotel has the siteing and general ambiance of a 5 star it is let down by the supercilious staff who seem unable to smile- with the exception of the ladies who 'did' our room. The gereral feeling we got was that we were an inconvenience to them chatting amongst themselves. Noboby seemed at all interested that at 8.30 they had run out of breakfast items such as bread, orange juice, youghurt etc. We booked this as an expensive 5 star part of our holiday and were sorely dissapointed

Room Tip: Use a different hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at Atlas Essaouira three nights with my husband - apparently, it was low season in January, the hotel seemed vast and quiet. Nevertheless, it's still very nice - spacious room, nice decor, all in-room facilities are in good condition.

Also, wi-fi is steadily available. There are also plenty of lovely lobby space that we could stay and chill. They also serve complimentary mint tea and pastry at the main entrance every morning.

The minor negative feedback are front desk staff hadn't explained clearly that most of the restaurants are closed for lunch/dinner - only the restaurant on the beach was open, so we'd been unnecessarily waiting for hour. Also, I was a bit surprised that the waiter at the beach restaurant can't speak much English and we need to 'google translate' the menu by ourselves!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seafood_Lover8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm going to keep this simple, forget the bad reviews, trust me this hotel was value and above all a lovely 5 star, with stunning rooms. Staff were polite, we saw no reason to think this hotel is unsafe. Go and treat yourself to a 5 star facility at a low cost.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbella
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked at the very last minute and had a really enjoyable and comfortable stay at the Atlas Essaouira & Spa - would recommend it for a very relaxing holiday (if you haven't visited Essaouira, it's one of Morocco's seaside gems and well worth the 2.5 hr drive from Marrakech).

The Atlas is just opposite the beach (so you get a different sun set every evening), and the main plus points here for us were the attentive staff, immaculately clean rooms, comfortable bed, and a big buffet breakfast with delicious croissants, deli-style bread rolls, and eggs, sausages, fruit, etc - as well as traditional Moroccan crepes and mint tea. Chic and very relaxed, we would highly recommend it. There is a huge pool, good spa, jazz bar, restaurants and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We would pop across the road in the evenings for a drink to watch the sunset at "Seven" bar, which is part of the hotel, and a very romantic place for dinner at night as it's right on the sand.

We thought the Atlas was surprisingly affordable, too, for a 5-star Hotel & Spa especially with its prime location a few steps from Essaouira's gorgeous beach.

A lot of the staff spoke good English and the rooms have international channels (mainly French and Moroccan but some in English) and plasma screen TVs. Ours was well furnished and felt very new, there were no signs of wear and tear.

All in all, we would come back in a heartbeat and are very glad we chose this - at random - when we made the booking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueskyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent a very pleasant 5 nights at the Atlas in Essaouira -- three nights in a riad room before getting upgraded to a seafront view. Both rooms were spacious, with comfortable beds and large, well stocked bathrooms. Outstanding housekeeping (rooms were always cleaned by the time I would return from lunch), great beachfront location (only a 15 or 20 minute walk along the beach to the medina), good free wifi and flat screen t.v.'s, and very friendly and accommodating front desk staff. They offered me the upgrade without my asking, arranged transportation to Rabat when I left, and providing immediate laundry service and a technician to fix the wifi the one time it froze.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjouan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just spent a girls week end and stayed at the ATLAS ESSAOUIRA & SPA
We have stayed there my mother and i twice, abd there was a reason for coming back
although we were 12, our check in was flawless. the service was impeccable from each staff member we entourred. we enjoyed being in the best and the more authentic city in Morocco. Our favorite amenty of this fine hotel has to be the FULL breakfast each morning.
The staff was wonderful, everyone was helpful making it a wonderful week end with friends, we definitely return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gihane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#22 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Property: Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Address: Boulevard Mohamed V | Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing