We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chems Bleu, a wonderful stay”
Review of Riad Chems Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Chems Bleu
Ranked #16 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lazio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Chems Bleu, a wonderful stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at Riad Chems Bleu just for one night in May 2011 but it was a very good experience. The hotel was very clean and the room big and sunny. The breakfast was fresh and rich. I really advise all the travellers to stay in this riad also for longer periods and I personally hope to go back soon. Furthermore Riad Chems Bleu is located near the city centre, just five minutes walks from the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fcapelli_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
106
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I’m a little shocked that this place is listed as #3 in Essaouira. Not because is a horrible place … it’s not … but rather because it wasn’t as spectacular as the previous reviews make it out to be. I’m not sure if that’s because Essaouira has some pretty bad/expensive Riads or if I’ve just been lucky enough to find some real gems in Morocco. But it is a very lovely riad.

The location is great. Don’t be fooled by the map and think it’s too far from the main part of the medina; it’s not. The medina is small and it’s easy to find your way around. You’re not in the heart of the medina … which is only, at most, a 5 minute walk away … and that means it’s quiet. There are no restaurants blaring their music, hawkers yelling “excuse me, just a look”, and no hustle and bustle of tourists under your window. You can get to all of that … but it won’t find you.

The staff was super friendly and helpful. They had recommendations of where to, and where not to, go. Breakfast was incredible … and slightly different each morning. I haven’t found that to be the case in most Riads. It was nice not knowing exactly what to expect.

Just a couple of things to watch out for. The Riad is at the end of a urine-stenched dead alley. While I’m used to walking through the tight, dark streets of medinas, I’m not used to stepping over guys cutting drugs and drinking in alleyways. The staff is aware of this and told us not to worry about them. I’m not sure how much control I expect them to have on who’s outside their premises. And I have to admit, they seemed pretty friendly and innocuous; they move out of our way and didn’t hassle us when we walked by. But it was a little disconcerting.

And when we checked out, the staff wanted to know who we booked through before telling us the final price. It makes me wonder if there is a set price or if they have different prices depending on how you find them.

But overall, I’d go back the next time we’re in Essaouira.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charli246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

On our second visit to Essaouira we stayed at Chems Bleu. We would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone looking to stay in the Medina, in a riad with excellent light and views and small enough to offer highly personalized service during your stay – and all at a very competitive price.
When owner Annie Menard is not there, the mainstay of the operation is Latifa for whom nothing is too much trouble. Latifa makes all the difference! Our boys suffered a bout of food poisoning and she was quick to fetch some pasta to prepare to help sustain them…
We stayed in the RED room which is surprisingly large and with a mezzanine level with a second bed, and the OCHRE room that has sea views over the Medina wall, and across to the main entrance gate to the Medina.
There is a nice terrace (on top of the OCHRE room) where you take breakfast (which is excellent!) on sunny days and this has wide views over the Medina and to the main beach of Essaouira.
A wonderful place to stay while in Essaouira – highly recommended.

Room Tip: Annie or Latifa will sort out the best option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjbxls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks in February 2011. It’s a pleasure to stay inside the medina. In fact a privilege to mingle with the Moroccans as they go about their life. Latifa and Sumir and the staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very pleasant
I really enjoyed it here and was very glad I stayed inside the walls instead of a hotel. its very central and most of the action is inside the medina. I look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardakaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Although located within the Medina, once you stepped through the little blue door, you could hardly tell. We were greeted with refreshing mint tea and an orientation of the Medina.

A beautiful and simply decorated Riad equipped with clean and comfortable rooms. The concierge, Sumiyya and Latifa are heaven sent. Fluent in both English and French, they provided us with helpful tips on shopping, restaurants and hammam. We felt well looked after. Latifa personally brought me to the hammam for my scrub down and Sumiyya taught us how to haggle with the vendors. Their hospitality services beat any five star hotel's hands down.

The breakfast provided was scrumptious and more than sufficient. We stayed in both Dunette and Ocre. Both are equally comfortable and clean, equipped with heaters in case you find the evenings chilly. Dunette has a private balcony and Ocre is more spacious room. Both have views of the ocean.

We will got back to Essaouira just to find an excuse to stay at Chems Bleu.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBasrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights after being in Marrakech. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was cosy with a cracking sea view - great for an afternoon chill out. The restaurant Mehdi recommended (M'Riste Jouhar) was excellent as were his tips on places to wander round. They also organised an excellent overnight camel tour for us and let us leave our gear in our room free of charge for the night we were away. Great place. We felt really welcome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarecrow_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We relaxed here for a couple of days after a trip to Marrakech, and it was exactly what we needed. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Our room was basic, but clean and comfortable, with an unobstructed view of the ocean. Breakfast was simple but tasty, with very flexible hours. The location was perfect! It was a short walk to anywhere you might want, but far enough away from the main square that it was quiet at night. Perfect! This is a lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcnalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#14 of 74 in Essaouira
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#28 of 74 in Essaouira
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chems Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chems Bleu

Property: Riad Chems Bleu
Address: Rue d'Agadir 14 - impasse Moulay Azzouz | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Chems Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing